Skip to main content

LC Classification System - Call Numbers at UTPB: LC Classification Outline

Library of Congress classification system, A-H; J-N, P-Z

LibCat

  • LibCat
    UTPB Library Catalogue

Brief Overview

General Works
AC - AZ
Philosophy, Religion
B - BD, BH - HX
Psychology
BF
Auxiliary Sciences of History
CC - CT
History - General, European, Eastern Hemisphere
D - DU
History - Western Hemisphere
E, F
Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
G - GV, includes Kinesiology
 
Social Sciences
Economics & Business :
HB - HJ
Sociology; Social Sciences :
HM - HT, HX
Social Work, Criminology :
HV
 
Political Science
J - JX
Law
K - KK
Education
L - LT
Music
M - MT
Visual Arts
N - NX
Languages & Literatures
P - PZ
Sciences
Q - QR
Medicine
R - RZ
Agriculture
S - SK
Technology
T - TP, TS
Technology - Arts & Crafts
TR, TT, TX
Military Science
U - UH
Naval Science
V - VM
History of Books, Library Science, Bibliography
Z

Library of Congress Classification System Outline

General Works AC - Collections. Series. Collected Works
AE - Encyclopedias (General)
AG - Dictionaries and other general reference works
AI - Indexes (General)
AM - Museums (General)
AP - Periodicals (General)
AS - Academics and Learned Societies
AY - Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories
AZ - History of Scholarship and Learning. The Humanities (
Philosophy, Psychology, Religion B - History and Systems of Philosophy
BC - Logic
BD - Speculative Philosophy
BF - Psychology (including Parapsychology and the Occult)
BH - Aesthetics
BJ - Ethics. Social Usages. Etiquette.
BL - Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
BM - Judaism
BP - Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
BQ - Buddhism
BR - Christianity (General)
BS - The Bible
BT - Doctrinal Theology
BV - Practical Theology
BX - Christian Denominations and Sects
Auxiliary Sciences of History CC - Archaeology (General)
CD - Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
CE - Technical Chronology. Calendar
CJ - Numismatics
CN - Inscriptions. Epigraphy
CR - Heraldry
CS - Genealogy
CT - Biography (General)
History - General & Eastern Hemisphere D - History (General)
DA - Great Britain
DAW - Central Europe
DB - Austria, Czechoslovakia, Hungary
DC - France
DD - Germany
DE - Mediterranean, Greco-Roman World
DG - Italy
DH - Netherlands (Low Countries)
DJ - Netherlands (Holland), Belgium, Luxembourg
DJK - Eastern Europe
DK - Russia (& Soviet Union). Poland. Finland
DL - Northern Europe. Scandinavia
DP - Spain. Portugal
DR - Eastern Europe. Turkey
DS - Asia
DT - Africa
DU - Australia, New Zealand. Oceania (South Seas)
History - Western Hemisphere E - America (General) and United States
F1-F975 - United States (local history)
F1001-F1140 - Canada
F1201-F1392 - Mexico
F1401-3799 - Central and South American, Caribbean
Geography, Anthropology, Recreation (Kinesiology) G - Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
GA - Mathematical Geography, Cartography
GB - Physical Geography
GC - Oceanography
GE - Environmental Sciences
GF - Human Ecology. Anthropogeography
GN - Anthropology, Ethnology, Ethnography
GR - Folklore
GT - Manners and Customs
GV - Recreation. Sports. Leisure

Social Sciences--

Econ & Business:  HB-HJ

Sociology; Social Sciences:  HM-HT, HX

Social Work, Criminology : HV

 

H - Social Sciences (General)
HA - Statistics
HB - Economic Theory. Demography
HC - Economic History and Conditions: (By geographic region or country)
HD - Economic History and Conditions: (By Subject: Land, Agriculture, Industry, etc.)
HE - Transportation and Communications
HF - Commerce. Accounting
HG - Finance
HJ - Public Finance
HM - Sociology (General and theoretical)
HN - Social History. Social Problems. Social Reform
HQ - Social Groups -- The family; marriage; women (including feminism), etc.
HS - Societies: Secret, benevolent, etc. Clubs
HT - Communities. Classes. Races
HV - Social Pathology. Criminology. Social and Public Welfare
HX - Socialism. Anarchism. Communism
Political Science J - Official Documents (general legislative and executive papers)
JA - Collections and General Works
JC - Political Theory. Theory of the State
JF - Constitutional History and Administration: General works. Comparative works.
JK - United States Government (federal and state)
JL - British America. Latin America
JN - Europe.
JQ - Asia. Africa. Australia. Oceania
JS - Local Government
JV - Colonies and Colonization. Emigration and Immigration
JX - International Law. International Relations
Law K - Law (General)
KD - Law of the United Kingdom and Ireland
KE - Law of Canada
KF - Law of United States
KFT - KFT 1200-1799 Law of Texas
KG - Latin America (General). Mexico and Central America.
KH - South America
KJ-KK - Europe
Education L - Education (General)
LA - History of Education
LB - Educational Theory and Practice. Special Aspects of Education
LC - Individual Institutions: Universities, Colleges, and Schools
LD - United States
LE - Americas, except the United States
LF - Europe
LG - Asia. Africa. Oceania
LH - College and School Publications
LJ - Student Fraternities and Societies
LT - Textbooks (General)
Music M - Music Scores
ML - Literature of Music
MT - Music Instruction and Study
Visual Arts N - Visual Arts (General)
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Graphic Arts (Drawing, Design, Illustration)
ND - Painting
NE - Print Media
NK - Decorative and Applied Arts. Other arts
NX - Arts in general
Language and Literature P - Philology and Linguistics
PA - Classical Philology (Greek and Latin)
PB - Modern European Languages (General), Celtic Languages and Literatures
PC - Romance Languages
PD - Old Germanic and Scandinavian Languages
PE - English Language
PF - Dutch, Flemish, and German Languages
PG - Slavic, Baltic, Albanian: Languages and Literatures
PH - Finno-Ugrian. Basque Languages & Literature
PJ - Oriental, Semitic Languages and Literatures
PK - Indo-Iranian Languages and Literatures
PL - Languages and Literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, and Oceania
PM - American Indian and Artificial Languages
PN - Literary History. Drama. Literary Collections (General)
PQ - Romance Literatures
PR - English Literatures
PS - American Literature
PT - German Literatures
PZ - Children's & Juvenile Literature
Sciences Q - Science (General). Information Theory
QA - Mathematics
QB - Astronomy
QC - Physics
QD - Chemistry
QE - Geology
QH - Natural History (General). Biology (General)
QK - Botany
QL - Zoology
QM - Human Anatomy
QP - Physiology
QR - Microbiology
Medicine R - Medicine (General)
RA - Public Aspects of Medicine
RB - Pathology
RC - Internal Medicine. Practice of Medicine
RD - Surgery
RE - Ophthalmology
RF - Otorhinolaryngology
RG - Gynecology and Obstetrics
RJ - Pediatrics
RK - Dentistry
RL - Dermatology
RM - Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS - Pharmacy and Materia Medica
RT - Nursing
RV - Botanic, Thomsonian and Eclectic Medicine
RX - Homeopathy
RZ - Other Systems of Medicine
Agriculture S - Agriculture (General)
SB - Plant Culture
SD - Forestry
SF - Animal Culture
SH - Aquaculture, Fisheries, Fishing
SK - Hunting. Wildlife Management
Technology T - Technology (General)
TA - Engineering (General). Civil Engineering
TC - Hydraulic Engineering
TD - Environmental Technology. Sanitary Engineering
TE - Highway Engineering. Roads and Pavements
TF - Railroad Engineering and Operation
TG - Bridge Engineering
TH - Building Construction
TJ - Mechanical Engineering and Machinery
TK - Electronics and Electrical Engineering. Nuclear Engineering
TL - Motor Vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
TN - Mining Engineering. Metallurgy
TP - Chemical Technology
TS - Manufactures
Technology - Arts & Crafts TR - Photography (as fine and applied art)
TT - Handicrafts. Arts and Crafts.
TX - Home Economics
Military Science U - Military Science (General)
UA - Armies: Organization, description, facilities, etc.
UB - Military Administration
UC - Maintenance and Transportation
UD - Infantry
UE - Cavalry. Armored and Mechanized Cavalry
UF - Artillery
UG - Military Engineering. Air Forces. Air Warfare
UH - Other Services
Naval Science V - Naval Science (General)
VA - Navies: Organization, description, facilities, etc.
VB - Naval Administration
VC - Naval Maintenance
VD - Naval Seaman
VE - Marines
VF - Naval Ordinance
VG - Minor Services of the Navy
VK - Navigation. Merchant Marine
VM - Naval Architecture. Shipbuilding. Marine Engineering
History of Books, Library Science, Bibliography Z - Library Science. Bibliography
History of Books, Writing, Book Industries and Trade, Libraries and Library Science, Bibliography