Skip to main content

Choice Recommended Web Sites: Sciences

Recommended web sites have more description than Outstanding or Highly Recommended sites.

The Sciences

The sciences include : Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Geology, Mathematics, Nursing; History of Science

365 : Chemistry for Life
The American Chemical Society (ACS) created 365: Chemistry for Life as part of the 2011 International Year of Chemistry (IYC) for public outreach on the role of chemistry in everyday life. The site features an interactive calendar with topics of the day. Links include teaching plans, puzzles, career profiles of chemists, online resources for K-12, and presentations for instruction and independent student discovery.
Action Bioscience - Promoting Bioscience Literacy
Published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences, this site s a free educational Web site designed to inform readers about issues related to bioscience literacy. Each section contains original articles written by academicians, scientists, science undergraduate students, and freelance writers. All articles written specifically for Action Bioscience undergo independent peer review prior to publication; articles by students are reviewed by educators or other professionals. The only feature that could use improvement is a site directory which contains a laundry list of more than 140 topics. Subheadings or subtitles would have been helpful.
A List Apart
An online magazine that covers Web content and development, including design, standards, coding, and accessibility issues. A number of editors run the site and accept submitted articles based on the magazine's stated guidelines. It is a great publication for practitioners, but not for the beginner or casual Web Designer, since some of the article discussions are quite technical.
Aldo Leopold Archives
University of Wisconsin; provides access to the written works of one of the great early 20th Century conservationists; consists of digitized resources from Leopold's main body of work from the end of the 19th century until his death in 1948; users can search the collection by title, author and illustration; Boolean and proximity search is also available.
Allium Central
The genus Allium--ornamental onion--includes many attractive, underused flowering plants. Site is reasonably organized but some sections such as Dwarf Alliums only have a placeholder title; the site is attractive with photographs and information not easily found elsewhere online...but it is incomplete in several areas.
amednews.com : American Medical News
American Medical News is a current awareness medical news source, updated Monday through Friday. Published by the American Medical Association (AMA), it provides coverage of the latest information about electronic medical records, medical education, Medicare, health system reform, and other developments that affect modern medical practice.
American Association of the History of Nursing, Inc.
Site is organized for easy access but does need some attention to updating of resources; includes a calendar for marking milestones in nursing history, as well as serving as a repository for photographs and information on the role of the late 19th century nurse.
Anatomy Videos (Medline Plus)
Nearly 80 videos produced by A.D.A.M., a company with a long history of creating high-quality medical images with the guidance of and under review by physicians.
Aquatic Commons
this is a thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine/brackish and fresh water environments; it is sponsored by the International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers.
Ars Technica
online news and information resource covering a variety of intersections between technology and culture. Visually, this site looks similar to other popular online computer journals. But Ars Technica provides balanced attention to a number of topics in sections titled Business IT, Apple, Gaming, Hardware, Gears & Gadgets, and Law & Disorder. More importantly, Ars Technica is a social networking space, fully allowing an interactive dialogue to occur between its readers as they express their reactions to content presented in the articles.
Asteroid Watch, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Readers may receive updates via RSS feeds, e-mail alerts, and Twitter. The site worked equally well in Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox. Asteroid Watch will be of interest to students, space buffs in the general public, and high school science teachers.
Atlas of the Universe
consists of a series of interactive 3-D maps of the universe; especially targeted to undergraduate astronomy
Becoming Human
The Institute of Human Origins (IHO), affiliated with Arizona State University's School of Human Evolution and Social Change since 1998, created the Becoming Human Web site in 2000 and released version 2.0 in 2009. Becoming Human offers introductory information about human evolution and resources for educators and general audiences. The site includes a chronology of human evolution, titled Human Lineage through Time, with short essays about hominid species from Sahelanthropus tchadensis to Homo sapiens.
BioChemWeb.org
BioChemWeb.org describes itself as a "virtual library of biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology." Most of the resources listed are intended for researchers, teachers, and students, but some are labeled for beginners, i.e., those with an interest in a topic, but with little or no education.
Calculus Animations
The visualizations in Calculus Animations could be useful for students studying calculus or as a supplement for instructors to use for demonstrating the rotation of equations about axes. 260 animations are available, all posted in AVI format, so users can view in QuickTime, RealAudio and Windows Media, but not with Winamp.
Carbon Offset Research & Education (CORE)
Delving into the often-confusing world of carbon offset programs and research, CORE compiles data from authoritative governmental bodies and international organizations (e.g., US Environmental Protection Agency, World Bank, UN, and World Wildlife Fund). However, the site states that CORE does not reflect the views of these institutions nor does it obtain any official endorsements from them. An initiative of the Stockholm Environment Institute, CORE provides plenty of data regarding various types of legislation regarding carbon offset programs, both in the US and abroad. The site also includes a decent glossary to help the user navigate through the world of carbon offset and the policies and regulations that define it.
CDC Wonder
WONDER (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) online databases utilize rich ad-hoc query systems for the analysis of public health data.
Center for Biological Diversity
The Center for Biological Diversity (CBD) is an advocacy organization working to preserve endangered species, especially through the courts and by publicizing environmental threats. Their Web site provides information on the status of specific species and CBD's actions to help preserve them....The lists are not as comprehensive as the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species http://www.iucnredlist.org/ , nor is the level of threat for a species always in agreement with the IUCN. However, for the species CBD covers, site visitors learn more about its lifestyle and how it fits into its environment, as well as how one might assist in preserving it.
Center for Biosecurity
an independent, nonprofit organization of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education
Overall, the Web site provides easy access to a range of resources and information related to science and engineering education.
CERN: The Large Hadron Collider
sub-titled: The Universe is About to Change, the site section descriptions are detailed without heavy use of jargon, and range from 300 to more than 2000 words. LHC Milestones provides a graphic-rich time line in both Flash and HTML, from 1980 to the present. Because the site is graphics-rich some links and documents require extended time to load.
The ChemCollective : Online Resources for Teaching and Learning Chemistry
National Science Digital Library; Carnegie Mellon; focuses on assisting teachers and students at the introductory chemistry course level
ChemSpider.com: Database of Chemical Structures
ChemSpider links together compound information across the web, providing free text and structure search access of millions of chemical structures.
ChemTube 3D
University of Liverpool; interactive 3D animations for some of the most important organic reactions covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree program
Chemical Education Digital Library
a collaborative effort to collect model examples of digital content; principal sponsors are the Chemical Education Division of the American Chemical Society and the National Science Digital Library
Chemical Synthesis Database
a recent addition to the open-access databases found on the Internet, provides free access to chemical property and synthesis information for over 40,000 compounds. Searching is fairly simple and includes text and graphical options. Compounds may be located using chemical names and synonyms, registry numbers, International Chemical Identifiers, molecular formulas, the Simplified Molecular Input Line Entry System (SMILES), and the journal title of the synthesis reference.
Climate Change Policy & Practice
Launched in 2008, Climate Change Policy and Practice is "a knowledgebase of UN and intergovernmental activities addressing global climate change policy." This news service, run by the International Institute for Sustainable Development, produces and publishes reports on international negotiations on climate change, the activities of organizations involved in climate change policy, and issues relating to climate change....The site provides much useful information on current climate change policy issues and key players....
Convergence
Mathematical Association of America (MAA) Mathematical Sciences Digital Library; a free online magazine which focuses on providing resources for teaching mathematics by using its history as a pedagogical tool
Darwin Correspondence Project
On this site you can read and search the full text of more than 6,000 of Darwin's letters, and find information on 9,000 more; University of Cambridge, UK.
Dynamic Periodic Table
While offering nothing new, this is a clean well-organized site, which has 32 different language settings, and loads very rapidly; some more powerful sites are so graphic intensive as to discourage use by those with slower access to the web
Earth Exploration Toolbook
a free educational Web site that was developed by the Science Education Research Center at Carleton College with funding by the NSF. EET is a useful resource for earth science students and teachers at all levels.
Energy Explained
a product of the Energy Information Administration of the US Dept of Energy; serves to provide information on all aspects of energy; the audience is clearly intended to be the general public, but the material goes into enough detail to be a first stop resource for college-level students.
Environment News Service
Established in 1990, the privately owned Environment News Service (ENS) focuses on presenting "late-breaking" national and international environmental issues and news "in a fair and balanced manner." The articles are appropriate to its name and mission. With newspaper-style writing and presentation, these are not technical documents, but short, informative articles from the US and around the world.
Environmental SCIENCE
provided by Chemical & Engineering News, American Chemical Society; begun in July 2010, this is the first news channel of Chemical & Engineering News appearing on the ACS web site. This new site gets content via the business, government, science, technology, and education departments of C&EN, including stories not found in the print journal. Environmental SCENE has two editors with chemical education backgrounds who provide stories, along with a pool of freelance writers. Topics include environmental research and policies as well as "climate change, pollution, toxic substances, and sustainability."....The Web site is updated almost daily....Articles are 400-500 words long....Related stories, journal articles, and subject headings are linked to each article. All stories list author and contact information, adding to the authority of the site. Environmental SCENE differs from other environmental sites (see Environmental News Service above) since the site's subject specialist editors create original stories using ACS and C&EN as resources.....Advertising is limited and not obtrusive. The menu bar at the top connects to all sections of C&EN. Overall, a useful resource for environmental news.
Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
University of Washington Libraries; The images are scanned and maintained specifically by the staff of the Fisheries-Oceanography Library. The site currently contains 21,000 photos related to worldwide ocean and limnological environments from the 18th- through early-20th centuries....The site appears to work well using both Internet Explorer and Firefox. This site offers a useful way to view images from publications that may be too fragile to handle. It is valuable for any student, teacher, or researcher who needs access to historical images related to freshwater and marine subjects.
The Future of Nursing : Leading Change, Advancing Health
Free consensus report from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation on the future of nursing.
GameDev.net
comprehensive Web resource designed for both beginning and expert game developers. Established in 1999, the site provides a wide variety of technical resources on all aspects of gaming--programming, game design, visual art, sound and music, jobs, product reviews, and the gaming industry. The 2,000-plus articles, including columns and book reviews, are typically signed (with few exceptions), and searchable with a simple Google search box.
Genes and Disease
produced and maintained by the national Center for Biotechnology Information, part of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Part of National Center for Biotechnology Information's Bookshelf, the site summarizes 80 genetic disorders; for each disorder the underlying mutation(s) and clinical features are presented. The site is well designed for navigation; and a search box gives options to search the book, all e-books in the Bookshelf or PubMed
Geologic Time
from the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History; it is an interactive Web site focusing on paleobiology and paleontology. Overall, this is a useful site for gaining a general understanding of geologic time periods.
Global Footprint Network
Established in 2003 in Oakland, California with international offices in Brussels and Zurich, the GFN is an international think tank focused on advancing the science of sustainability. The database is divided into four sections: Footprint Basics, Footprint Science, Partnerships, and Resources. Footprint Science offers a link to download The Ecological Footprint Atlas, an 87-page document describing the basic premises involved. Use of terminology sometimes got in the way of clarity; there is a blog, radio/ video interviews and links to various reports and articles.
Global Invasive Species Database
The best of several similar sites; see also Noxious Weeds.
Gulf Oil Spill Information Center
University of South Florida Libraries; Overall, a useful resource for obtaining up-to-date information on an important environmental issue.
History of Vaccines
from the College of Physicians of Philadelphia; This site is an excellent resource for information on the history of vaccines. Although some content may be available through other sources, the site's greatest strengths are its excellent use of multimedia and its provision of vaccine-related primary documents....Although aimed at a high school audience, this resource offers considerable content that would be useful as background information for lower-level college students. Additionally, some of the activities or videos could be integrated into the college classroom.
Information Bridge
DOE Scientific and Technical Information; a free, full-text, public access database created in 1998, is an ongoing digitization project of technical reports and documents from the US Department of Energy (DOE). Because an informed citizenry is essential to a sound energy policy, the DOE's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) developed IB to support the agency's commitment to scientific discourse. IB is a niche collection....[However,] with more than 266,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations, IB includes a broad range of topics, including physics, chemistry, biology, environmental sciences, renewable energy and energy technology, materials science, engineering, computing and information science, and other areas central to DOE's mission of advancing energy-related science and technology.
INIS: International Nuclear Information System
from the International Atomic Energy Agency; this is the world's largest database of nuclear scientific / technical literature and covers a broad range of subjects in the areas of nuclear engineering, safeguards, etc. The INIS database is fast, intuitive, and very easy to use. A Google-like search box gives users the option of limiting to full text only and customizing the number of search results that display. Advanced searching and combining queries are also possibilities.
Internet Bird Collection
Sponsored by the Handbook of the Birds of the World, this site is an online video library of the world's birds. The site contains more than 28,000 videos representing 5,500 species and continues to grow. Browsing is hierarchical and starts with orders and then families. The database is punctuation sensitive--that is if a common name includes a hyphen (black-capped chickadee, etc.) the hyphen must be included in the search request or no results will be retrieved. The IBC's ranking tab allows video sorting by average user rating, which is often quite helpful. The IBC is the only site containing such a large collection of bird videos.
io-port.net
Developed and maintained by the German-based FIZ Karlsruhe, a not-for-profit institution, io-port.net is a free Web portal covering the computer science and technology literature. FIZ Karlsruhe states that the database contains about one million citations from 1951 to the current year.
International Union for Conservation of Nature
See also : US.gov site Endangered Species Program
Khan Academy
begun in 2006, the site is free and currently features more than 1,600 short (10-20 minute) videos that teach a variety of subjects, especially in math and science....The videos are deliberately brief and concise. For example, the calculus module is divided into nearly 200 parts——very useful for students who want to review a concept or for those who need more repetition for mastery
Laboratory Techniques Videos : University of Alberta
This collection of videos is intended to demonstrate laboratory techniques that students will use in an introductory organic chemistry laboratory. The demonstrator is not wearing gloves in most videos; this is a major safety issue....The site would benefit by explicit safety and technical updates, but overall the videos provide good demonstrations that will capture students' interest.
MAA Online: Classroom Capsules and Notes
The Mathematical Association of America's Classroom Capsules and Notes provides free access to classroom-oriented materials at the undergraduate level. Though the name Classroom Capsules is derived from a regular section in The College Mathematics Journal, this online version includes PDF files of short articles from the past 114 years of multiple MAA journals....Every article is classified by title, author, subject, keywords, and relevant course. Users can browse the collection (organized by subject) or access a search engine, supported with helpful tips, to locate materials of interest, a process that also encourages fruitful discovery of related articles. Users should read the MAA's liberal guidelines for copyright and fair use of the articles. It is clear that the intent of Classroom Capsules and Notes is to provide free access to a wealth of mathematical information as an effort to both challenge students and enhance teaching.
MAA Distinguished Lecture Series
Mathematical Association of America; provides a much needed venue for mathematicians to talk about current trends in mathematics in a style that is accessible to the general public and non specialist. Funded by the National Security Agency, the lecture series began in 2007, and at the time of this review, 19 lectures had been given. However, most of the lectures are only available as summaries or video snippets.
MacWorld AppGuide
see also MacWorld AppGuide : Essential Collections
Mathwire
Terry Kawas is a retired educator, a Web site and graphic designer, and a blog publisher. Her creation, Mathwire.com, is a collection of standards-based math activities organized according to National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) standards...:
Mathematical Programming Glossary
Published by INFORMS Computing Society, this glossary is available to users for free. It features terms related to mathematical programming, economics, computer science, and mathematics. Glossary terms are listed alphabetically; a search box is also available. However, according to one review the primary problem is that definitions of some terms do not address all relevant disciplines. Nevertheless the site is user friendly, easy to navigate and one of the better online dictionaries for the disciplines mentioned above.
MediLexicon
a free online database that allows users to look up definitions, and meanings for acronyms and abbreviations from fields including medicine, pharmacy, biotechnology, agrochemicals, and health care.
Merck Services
from Merck & Company; Merck & Co., one of the largest and oldest US pharmaceutical companies, publishes the indispensable The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, edited by M. H. Beers et al. (18th ed., CH, Oct'06, 44-0958). The Merck Services Web portal offers access to multiple Merck product family sites featuring information mostly designed for practicing health care professionals. One of the seven sections provides links to the various Merck Manuals: The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The Merck Manual of Geriatrics, The Merck Manual--Home Edition (see, e.g., 2nd Home ed., CH, Nov '03, 41-1591), The Merck Manual of Health and Aging, and The Merck Veterinary Manual. These are freely available (several offer free PDA downloads). Only The Merck Index (online or print), edited by M. J. O'Neil (14th ed., CH, Jun '07, 44-5373), is restricted by a fee.
Nanowerk
Published and owned by Nanowerk LLC, a comprehensive and educational nanotechnology / nanoscience portal. Provides a well-organized home page and a free searchable Nanomaterial Database. The site will be useful for professionals, educators, and academics as well as providing lesson plans and other supporting material helpful for teaching high school and college students.
NASA Hurricane Resource Page
NASA is probably not the first agency a user thinks of with respect to hurricanes, but NASA satellites and instruments provide many of the satellite images and other information about hurricanes, and this page is a good basic introduction to hurricanes.
National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library
site describes itself as an online vault where a comprehensive collection of select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures are securely stored and available for searchable access and download; the nature of the collection requires QuickTime and a fast internet connection.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
The Student Resources section provides access to resources for K-12 and college students on various forms of renewable energy including biomass, geothermal, hydrogen, solar, and wind. NREL offers links to energy models and tools used in different types of analysis, GIS data, and resource maps.
North American Insects and Spiders
he bulk of materials on this Web site (developed by Bruce Marlin, amateur naturalist and photographer) comprise high-quality digital photographs (approximately 2,000) of insects and spiders, accompanied by descriptive information and some notes on their natural history....The images are freely available (with permission) for educational purposes. The photos may also be useful for scholars/researchers if the site features a particular species of interest. The information provided is sparse but appears accurate. North American Insects and Spiders is primarily meant for general browsing, and it serves that purpose well.
NSF and the Birth of the Internet - Special Report
Sponsored by the NSF; site is organized by decades with each decade section offering between 4 and 6 topics for further information; some topics also include a brief video; The Sequential Maps of Internet Growth provide an interesting geographic description of Internet growth. This is a Flash-based Web site, with a text-only version also available. It is easy to navigate and locate content.
Oral Histories at the Niels Bohr Library & Archives
contains more than 3,000 hours of recorded interviews with approximately 1,500 physicists, astronomers, and other scientists. Overall a useful site for those interested in the history of science
PhysClips: Mechanics with Animations and Video Film Clips
The site authors (both Univ. of New South Wales, School of Physics), skillfully combine film clips, animations (requiring the Flash 6 plug-in), still photos, montages, and diagrams to bring fun to teaching introductory physics, mainly mechanics and areas of electricity and magnetism. PhysClips won the 12th (and last) Pirelli International Award for best multimedia science communication of physics in 2007. A comparable site is the University of Colorado's PhET - Physics Education Technology  which includes 49 interactive physics simulations.
Plant Information Online
University of Minnesota; a beautifully designed site which provides access to a database for more than 109,189 plants, 384,996 citations to 145,554 plants in science and garden literature; links to selected websites for images and regional information about 13,612 plants.
The Plant List
Described as "a working list of all known plant species," The Plant List is an authoritative source for scientific plant names geared toward advanced students or researchers in botany. This is not the place to find common names for plants or information about their geographic distributions or growth habits. Instead, the site provides a comprehensive, worldwide checklist of more than one million plant names of vascular plants (flowering plants, conifers, and ferns) and bryophytes (mosses and liverworts) to the species level.
Podcasts: Chemistry@nature.com
ChemPod is produced every other month and highlights work published in Nature journals. Podcasts are available from 2006 to the present. One reviewer stated that For practicing scientists, the Chemistry@nature.com podcast is an easy way to stay connected with forefront research highlighted by Nature editors.
PopTech
This site's videos represent the best presentations from the PopTech Institute's annual conferences that explore the impact of technology on society. The PopCasts cover a range of topics from the relationship between happiness and choice to genetic sequencing and personalized medicine.
Proteopedia: The Free, Collaborative 3D Encyclopedia of Proteins & other Molecules
wiki-based; as with all open access systems, the quality of the information depends on the users and the editors who track the changes; the data checked by one recent reviewer of the site (February 2009) was reported to be accurate although the amount of information given varied widely [from protein to protein].
ScienceBlogs
provides access to more than 70 blogs by selected leading bloggers from a wide variety of scientific disciplines; the ScienceBlogs staff does not edit the selected bloggers' work. Excellent site organization makes for easy browsing; a weekly newsletter is available for email; particularly useful for students and general readers who strive to keep up-to-date with ongoing science community online discussions
ScienceCinema
U.S. Department of Energy, OSTI; it is a multimedia cousin to the Energy Citations Database http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/. The database allows two search methods, Audio and Bibliographic. Audio Search is the equivalent of a full-text search, but in video files. Using a simple search interface and Microsoft's speech recognition technology, ScienceCinema searches the audio transcripts of all the indexed films for the desired search terms. The results take the searcher directly to the portion of the video that mentions one's search term.
Science Nation
a weekly online magazine maintained by the National Science Foundation; see also Science Daily  and ScienceNews.org
Science Oxford Online
part of The Oxford Trust foundation initiatives; SOO is not strictly a scholarly site, but it does provide a fun way to look at science and its connections, and it is a good way to encourage participation in communicating about science.
SearchMedica.com
a specialized search engine built to help find free Internet information aimed at the professional medical community; the site is easily navigated; registration is free and offers additional benefits
Sixty Symbols — Physics and Astronomy Videos
Fourteen scholars from the University of Nottingham unravel the mysteries of the strange squiggles and symbols used by scientists Clicking on a symbol opens a pop-up browser window where one can play the video using a YouTube embedded player. Paging through all the videos is possible in the pop-up window by using the previous and next links. Ads appear at the beginning of each video. Both image and sound quality are very good. Users can subscribe to an RSS feed to learn about newly added or updated videos.
Society of Toxicology
Toxicology is an interdisciplinary, rapidly growing science that investigates how various hazardous and poisonous substances harm humans and the environment. Despite its name, the Society of Toxicology (SOT) Web site is not fully intended for professional toxicologists or society members. It provides accurate, contemporary information and access to many resources for anyone wishing to understand current issues in toxicology.
Stanford Engineering Everywhere (SEE)
a collection of engineering course material produced and maintained by the Stanford School of Engineering. Currently there are ten courses, including a core three-course series on computer programming, a three-course series on artificial intelligence, and a four-course series on linear systems and optimization. The preferred viewing tool is Microsoft Silverlight, which offers present bookmarks that help viewers deal with the length of the lectures--generally an hour or more. Users that prefer reading or who have slow connection speeds can obtain transcripts of the lectures as HTML or pdf files.
Test Tube
University of Nottingham, UK; The site describes its purpose as "videos behind the scenes in the world of science." The 300+ videos cover a broad spectrum of topics ranging from motorcycle science, to yaks, to the academic promotion process, to grant acceptance and denial; they can be anywhere from less than a minute to over ten. Each video contains a very brief description and a set of boxes providing more details: Who, What, When, and Where.
Tiempo Cyber Climate
a co-production of the Stockholm Environment Institute and the International Institute for Environment and Development; the site has two components and Tiempo Climate Newswatch and a Tiempo Climate Portal. The Portal had a number of dead or changed links; the weekly Newswatch is very good, while the Portal is more problematic due to lack of updating.
TRAIL : Technical Report Archive & Image Library
TRAIL provides digital access to federal government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975. The TRAIL Working Group, made up of research libraries across the US, seeks to convert the vast technical report collections of research libraries into a more accessible format. The project is ongoing...
Unseen Life on Earth : An Introduction to Microbiology
Annenberg Media's Unseen Life on Earth is a 12-part telecourse that introduces concepts in microbiology. Each video runs approximately 30 minutes and can be watched free online.
U.S. Drought Portal
part of the National Drought Policy Commission's efforts to disseminate information on anticipated droughts and drought risk management. The site is robust with an array of features including maps, data tools, events, news, graphs, and educational resources for primary and secondary school students and above.
US Fish & Wildlife Service--Species
authoritative, user-friendly site which provides technical information about plant and animal species, updates on legislation and policy regarding species management, and details about species conservation. An Image Library offers a large collection of copyright-free images, which might be particularly useful to teachers searching for just such rights free images.
U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library
offers access to more than 30,000 color and black-and-white photographs taken during geologic studies of the US. All photos are in the public domain, but the USGS requests that users credit the photographer and the USGS when using a photo.
USGS Volcano Hazards Program
The Learn page has many resources for educators such as lessons/teaching activities, posters, videos, electronic versions of various publications, podcasts, and notices of upcoming events.
The Virtual Museum of Minerals and Molecules
Universities of Wisconsin and Minnesota; the site is a collection of 3-D images of minerals and organic molecules; each exhibit includes a 3-D image, which can be rotated in all directions; the information is presented in a clear, accessible manner, making the exhibits potentially useful to engaged high school students and the general public, as well as the primary academic and professional audiences.
World Resources Institute
The WRI Web site is a useful resource for a wide audience ranging from high school students to postgraduates interested in policy-related, scientific, and/or economic aspects of environmental studies
Yale Environment 360
an online magazine published by the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies; scientists, journalists, academics, environmentalists, and policy makers provide the content. e360 includes both opinion pieces and scientific research, each type of article is clearly labeled; a search engine is provided and the site offers RSS feeds and an email newsletter.