Skip to main content

Performing Arts Resources: Dance and Theater

Theater and Dance; Film; Music; Communications

Dance and Theater

Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
NYPL site can get very busy resulting in service refusals or slow loading; Choice Outstanding site
American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920
Choice Highly Recommended site; Library of Congress
American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
Choice Outstanding site; Library of Congress
Applied & Interactive Theatre Guide
Artslynx International Dance Resources
University of Colorado - Boulder
A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theater and Performance Studies
The Cleveland Press Shakespeare Photographs 1870-1982
Choice Highly Recommended site
The Costume Page
Choice Outstanding site
Costumes, Textiles & Apparel: Highlights of the Cornell Costume & Textile Collection
The Costumer's Manifesto
In existence for more than 10 years; a premier site for costume and fashion information; has more than 800 pages on all aspects of costume
The Development of Scenic Spectacle
Choice Highly Recommended site; Mohler, emeritus Appalachian State created this "fascinating, informative, and useful Web site" to house computer-generated scale models of Renaissance and Baroque scenic effects and scene-changing machinery based on Italian manuscripts.
Didaskalia: Ancient Theater Today
Choice Highly Recommended site
Dramatists Play Service, Inc
English Server Drama Collection
Choice Recommended site
Free to Dance
PBS
Internet Broadway Database
Choice Outstanding site; for off-Broadway see Lortel
Inter-play: An On-line Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies & Periodicals
sparse interface, but effective search engine; Portland State University Library
Kabuki for Everyone
Kabuki is a traditional form of Japanese theater
Lortel Archives: The Internet Off-Broadway Database
Choice Outstanding site
Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design
Choice Highly Recommended site; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; visually stunning and extremely user-friendly; an invaluable resource for those interested in the history of theater and design
The New Deal Stage
Choice Highly Recommended site; Part of the American Memory Project; provides access to primary source documents of theatrical productions sponsored by the WPA and the FTP (Federal Theatre Project) from 1935-1939.
O'Neill.com: An Electronic Eugene O'Neill Archive
Choice Highly Recommended site; more a guide to archives, than access to texts
Playbill Online
The Playwriting Seminars
Choice Highly Recommended site; Created by Richard Toscan (Virginia Commonwealth Univ.), the "seminars" comprise a nested series of 230 pages offering practical guidance to the conventions of the well-made play typically sought by the regional theater companies that provide the majority of venues for contemporary non-experimental drama. Everything is explained in terms of theatrical viability more than aesthetic principle per se.
Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
Television Production
Choice Highly Recommended site; From an academic review: "A stellar example of an electronic text, this site is unique in that it is a comprehensive course offered at no cost to the user. Web master Ron Whittaker, author of several television production texts, offers the site with the plea that users make a "moral payment" to use the knowledge to benefit society. The site is well structured and offers many advantages over a print text, primary among them quick updating of material (the bane of print texts). The site presents 70 informative modules (complete with more than 500 graphics) covering scripting and proposals, technical processes and equipment, camera controls and lenses, lighting, audio, editing, and careers. "
Zora Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress
Choice Outstanding site

Return to Library Home