Skip to main content

Engineering Sources - Selected: Commercial Databases

Commercial Databases


  • American Chemical Society: ACS Web Editions full-text editions of all ACS journals
  • AGRICOLA National Agriculture Library (NAL) Catalog; Agriculture, forestry and animal science 1989-present;  NAL / USDA
  • Applied Science & Technology Full Text WilsonWeb database; Subjects in ASTA: Applied chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy-related disciplines, engineering, mathematics, physics. Indexes more than 700 journals, for a total of 1.5 million articles indexed.
  • General Science Full Text  Select OmniFile Mega then in the bottom right corner select the appropriate subject area
  • GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Index of U.S. government publications; also links directly to electronic government documents.
  • IEEExplore Choice Highly Recommended site;   Selected journals, conference proceedings and standards.
  • JSTOR Choice Outstanding site;   Archives & provides full-image for more than 1,200 scholarly journals from their beginnings to the most recent 1 to 7 years (varies with vendor contracts). In short, this provides access to more than 3 million full-length scholarly articles.
  • MathSciNet : Mathematical Reviews on the Web MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 65 years; American Mathematical Society.
  • Nature, Nature Archives Online
    Nature Archives coverage is 1987-1996, Nature is 1996 forward; full-text and full-image (PDF) files available; PDF files usually print better, but full-text files handle some types of graphics better.
  • Nature GeoScience Includes full-text and full-image (PDF) files available; PDF files usually print better, but full-text files handle some types of graphics better.
  • Nature Methods subtitled Techniques for Life Scientists and Chemists
  • PsycINFO   Comprehensive professional psychology index; abstracts of psychology literature since 1806; more than 2.2 million records; updated weekly.
  • ScienceDirect  Elsevier; Full-text of 600+ science journals; also includes more than 100 social science journals.
  • Wiley Online Library Choice Highly Recommended site;  Full-image of more than 1,500 journals. The new interface indicates which titles are journals and which are books. It also has a little icon of a padlock; if the padlock is open UTPB has access; if there is no padlock or the padlock is "closed" then UTPB does not have access.
  • Open Access Electronic Journals

    There are three primary lists or directories that link to many academic (but some non-academic) free electronic journals.

  • Academic Search Complete EbscoHost: Academic Search Complete is an aggregated / general database with indexing for more than 5,000 journals. It is best to restrict your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
  • Proquest Research Library  General periodical index; contains citations and full-image materials for both academic [e.g. Ecology] and popular [e.g. Earthwatch] titles. Indexes more than 4000 titles; more than 2000 journals are full image files; slight but perceptible emphasis on social sciences including economics, business and education.

Subject Guide

Basic Reference

Not intended to be a comprehensive list, but instead a list of basic but very good leased (e.g. commercially published) websites. Off site access restricted to UTPB users.

 

 

Return to Library Home