Skip to main content

Plagiarism Webliography for Students and Faculty: Web Sites on Plagiarism

Web sites on Plagiarism : Definitions, Explanations; Studies and Reports

Web Sites on Plagiarism

Academic Integrity & Avoiding Plagiarism
provides a tutorial that discusses what plagiarism is and how students can avoid it Formerly Plagiarism: What Is It and How To Avoid It.
Avoiding Plagiarism from the Glendale Community College Site
Defines plagiarism, provides a list of relevant terms which students should know, helps them recognize what plagiarism is and how to avoid it; also information on what and how to quote, how to paraphrase, what to cite, when to cite, and how to cite
Avoiding Plagiarism: Mastering the Art of Scholarship.pdf
Note: this is a pdf file; from the UC Davis Student Judicial Affairs committee; provides guidelines for avoiding plagiarism within the UC Davis code of academic conduct and presents examples of ethical scholarship
Cut-and-Paste Plagiarism: Preventing, Detecting, and Tracking Online Plagiarism
defines plagiarism and steps for preventing, detecting, and tracking down plagiarized materials; also provides links to term paper mills
Cut and Paste Plagiarism: A Workshop
a workshop including Powerpoint slides and bibliography presented at Notre Dame University Libraries.
DePauw University Writing Center: Plagiarism
defines and describes for students what plagiarism is and presents guidelines to watch out for when "using sources in essays;" lists 4 types of plagiarism: direction detection, borrowing from students, vague or indirect citation, and mosaic plagiarism which they define as The writer does not copy the source directly, but changes a few words in each sentence or lightly rewords a paragraph, without giving credit to the original author.
Deterring Plagiarism: A New Role for Librarians
an article by Margaret Burke in an e-journal, discussing possible roles for the library in the new electronic environment.
Documentation Guidelines for Citing Sources & Avoiding Plagiarism
Duke University Libraries guidelines for students citing sources; avoiding plagiarism; contains sections for citing sources and how to assemble a list of works citied in a paper; how to avoid plagiarism
History News Network: Plagiarism Cases
provides a thorough examination of the Stephen E. Ambrose plagiarism controversy; also provides links to other cites that discuss the Ambrose controversy
How to Avoid Plagiarism
Northwestern University; academic integrity policies for graduate and undergraduate research; provides strategies for students to use to avoid plagiarism
How to Recognize Plagiarism: Indiana University
site developed by the Instructional Systems Technology (IST) Department at IU-Bloomington; all IST students are required to take this tutorial; in contains an overview, cases, examples, and even a test
Plagiarism: Center for Writing: Teaching with Writing
Center for Interdisciplinary Studies of Writing at the University of Minnesota provides links to help faculty and students detect and avoid plagiarism
Plagiarism: Definitions, Examples & Penalties
from the Dept of Chemistry of the University of Kentucky; presents examples of plagiarism and shows procedures and penalties recommended if an instructor is confronted with acts of cheating and plagiarism
Plagiarism: What It Is and How to Recognize It
Indiana University; topics include, acceptable and unacceptable paraphrasing; what is or is not common knowledge; and strategies for avoiding plagiarism. The general site, Writing Tutorial Services  make various guides including this one available as pdf files
Plagiarism in Colleges in the USA
a long and comprehensive document by Ronald B. Standler, who is an attorney and consultant; he has practical ideas on how faculty can detect plagiarism; provides information on actual cases involving plagiarism in colleges, cases against commercial institutions, and legal actions that have been taken against people who report plagiarism. He also provides information on cases where degrees have been revoked after cases of plagiarism or academic misconduct.
The OWL at Purdue: Plagiarism
Online Writing Lab from Purdue University--Avoiding Plagiarism, Safe Practices
Student Plagiarism in an Online World
sponsored by the Society for Engineering Education, features resources and strategies to help detect plagiarism
What is Plagiarism?
History News Network staff has posted three definitions of plagiarism provided by the American Historical Association (AHA), the Modern Language Association (MLA), and the American Psychological Association (APA).
What is Plagiarism at Indiana University
a tutorial site that was developed by the School of Education
What is Plagiarism? / Avoiding Plagiarism
Penn State, discusses aspects of both plagiarism and cyber-plagiarism