Skip to main content

Databases grouped by broad subject areas: Combined

Aggregated

Academic OneFile 
an aggregated / general database indexing more than 8,000 journals covering everything from STM to the humanities. Remember to restrict your search by selecting the scholarly or peer-reviewed journal option. Strongest support for the humanities
ArticleFirst 
FirstSearch; Indexes 16,000+ titles--general, popular and trade magazines along with academic journals; 23 million citations since 1990 OCLC
EbscoHost : Academic Search Complete
an aggregated / general database with indexing for more than 5,000 scholarly journals. It is best to restrict your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals." Strongest support for the Sciences and Education
OmniFile Full Text Mega 
In addition to the standard Wilson databases this site includes Humanities and Social Science Retrospective indexes 1907-1984 and Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982; restricted to currently enrolled UTPB students, must have active UID.
ProQuest Research Library
General periodical index; contains citations and full-image materials for both academic [e.g. Ecology] and popular [e.g. Earthwatch] titles. Indexes more than 4000 titles; more than 2000 journals are full image files. Strongest general emphasis on social sciences including economics, business
e-books
The single most important access point to full-image traditional book titles supporting academic research. Provides access to the full-text of more than 50,000 current imprint titles--books published since 1990. Approximately 50% of the titles are social sciences.
Browsing does not have a time limit; checkouts are for two hours, and require that a free account be established. You must "check-out" such titles to receive better access to the e-book. FYI: Ebsco took control of netLibrary in 2011.

Return to Library Home