Skip to main content

Databases grouped by broad subject areas: Humanities

Humanities, History, Fine Arts Databases

20th Century American and 20th Century British Poetry
Select 20th Century American or 20th Century British from the collections menu; includes 50,000 poems from 300 American poets, and 600 volumes of poetry from 283 British poets.
Academic OneFile
a comprehensive database indexing more than 8,000 journals covering everything from STM to the humanities, but especially strong in the humanities. Remember to restrict searches to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection 
Choice Highly Recommended site; American Council of Learned Societies holdings have expanded to include more than 3,000 titles in history, art, literature, and other humanities areas.
American Film Scripts Online
Choice Highly Recommended site; The full images of 265 scripts written by 334 authors; examples of authors are: Joan Didion, Ruth Gordon, D.W. Griffith, and John Huston
American Periodical Series, 1740-1900
Choice Highly Recommended site; In order to access this database you must select Databases selected just under the Basic search tab at the top of the default/ start-up page; scroll to the bottom of the resulting page to Historical Databases. Note: In ProQuest historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases. The database provides access to more than 1,100 journal titles (more than 7 million pages) published from 1740-1900.
Art Full Text
Art Images Gallery Choice Highly Recommended site
Bibliography of Native North Americans 
CHOICE Highly Recommended site;  EbscoHost
Biography Index  
WilsonWeb; indexes more than 500,000 biographies published in journals or books since 1983
Book Review Digest 
Choice Highly Recommended site; WilsonWeb; more than 1.3 million reviews of 550,000 fiction & non-fiction books since 1983
CLCD: Children's Literature Comprehensive Database 
Children's Literature reviewers read and critically review more than 3,000 books annually.
Chicano Database 
Choice Outstanding title; FirstSearch/OCLC; from University of California - Berkeley a database focused on Mexican-American, Chicano and the broader Latino experience; indexes more than 2,000 journals; subjects strengths include art, bilingual education, history, labor, language, literature, mental health and politics.
Dictionary of American Regional English
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam's housecat to Zydeco -- has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity; Harvard University.
Early Encounters in America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
The full images of 83,000 pages, authored by 1,076 writers; North America includes a limited number of works from Canada and Mexico
Early English Books Online: EEBO
Choice Outstanding site; The full images of 150,000 early English books from 1475 to 1700 [Malory to Locke]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
180,000 books published between 1701 and 1800; 33 million pages of full-text;  The database is full-text searchable using a basic or advanced search. A Fuzzy Search option captures variant spellings and OCR errors by retrieving similar terms to those sought. Results display in digitized page format with the searched word highlighted.
Essay & General Literature Index
This is a unique index that provides indexing for articles and essays published in books. This index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. The online index covers 1985 to the present, while the library owns the paper indexes back to 1933.
Gale's Literature Reference Center with Twayne's Authors and Scribner Writers
Full biographies as well as significant critical studies of major US, British and many international authors of belles lettres and literature.
Gale Literary Databases
includes access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and Dictionary of Literary Biography
Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 300 full-text reference titles including such things as American History Through Literature, 1820-1870 and American History Through Literature 1870-1920. Other titles include The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education, The Dictionary of American History (10 volumes), The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English; The Dictionary of Literary Symbols; Nobel Prize Laureates in Literature (4 volumes), and Feminism in Literature(5 volumes).
The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1453-1945
Choice Outstanding site; An international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. Contains more than 2,000,000 page images in 15 languages. The collection is made up of 265 periodical titles and 4,471 book and pamphlet titles.
HarpWeek, 1857-1912
HarpWeek is the full-text and full-image reproductions of Harpers Weekly. There is a searchable database which offers several different ways to access the material. The database introduction and help pages are excellent. The vendor also provides Finding Aids for some of the most common areas of interest--e.g. Geography, Literary Genre, Occupation or Role in Society and so on
Historical Newspapers: London Times Indexes
Includes: Palmer's Index to the [London] Times, 1790-1905
The Official Index to the [London] Times, 1906-1980
Palmer's Full Text Online, 1800-1870
Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2006)
Choice Highly Recommended site; In order to access this database you must select Databases selected just under the Basic search tab at the top of the default/ start-up page; scroll to the bottom of the resulting page to Historical Databases. Note: In ProQuest historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases.
Humanities Full Text
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907-1984 Choice Highly Recommended site
JSTOR
Choice Outstanding site; Archives & provides full-image for more than 1,200 scholarly journals from their beginnings to the most recent 1 to 7 years (varies with vendor contracts). In short, this provides access to more than 3 million full-length scholarly articles.
Latin American Women Writers
The full images of 100,000 pages, authored from 1700-present. Authors from the 19th century include: Clorinda Matto de Turner (Peru), Juana M. Gorriti (Argentina), Gertrudis Gomez de Avellaneda (Cuba), Delmira Agustini (Argentina), and Julia Lopes Almeida (Brazil), among others. A number of important figures from the early 20th century are also targeted for inclusion, such as Alfonsina Storni (Argentina), Juana de Ibarbourou (Uruguay), Gabriela Mistral (Chile), and Clarice Lispector (Brazil).
MLA
Choice Highly Recommended site; GaleNet, indexes literature, languages, linguistics, folklore; 1926 to the present; more than 2 million citations.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
Choice Outstanding site; The full images of more than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters written by 1,325 North American women
Oxford English Dictionary [OED] Online
Choice Outstanding site; Complete text of the most current edition of the Oxford English Dictionary [OED]i.e. the Second Edition, 1989 with all supplements and for the online version, monthly updates of new words
Oxford Language Dictionaries
Choice Highly Recommended site; French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian, and Chinese; a cite link provides the correct MLA and Chicago / Turabian citation styles.
Oxford Premium Reference Online
Choice Outstanding site; single-user license; more than 300 full-image reference titles; at least basic coverage available for most academic disciplines
PAO Full-Text Collection
PAO: Periodical Archives Online; roughly the British equivalent of JSTOR; covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences; it contains the contents of 400 journal runs, providing access to over 8 million article pages. It has digitized important scholarly titles but also includes journals of historical interest that began publication in the 19th century, for example, Edinburgh Review, which was first published in 1802.
Project MUSE
Choice Outstanding site; This database contains the complete texts with all graphics, footnotes, and references of all JHUP journals. Beginning in 2001 additional titles from more than 100 prestigious scholarly and university presses have been added for a total of more than 370 high quality academic journals. The project focuses on humanities & social science titles, but also publishes journals dealing with the history of science.
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Choice Highly Recommended site; Readers’ Guide has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and was hailed by Library Journal as one of the 50 Best Reference Sources for the [2nd] Millennium. RG Retrospective presents one of the the richest accounts of U.S. cultural history you’ll find in any single source.
Serials Solutions: Electronic Journal Listings for UTPB
This service lists and provides direct links (on-campus only) to more than 90% of all electronic journal titles (more than 40,000) available through the commercial databases the Dunagan Library leases.

Return to Library Home