Skip to main content

Databases grouped by broad subject areas: Science

Science Databases

ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library (DL) is the most comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records in existence today covering the fields of computing and information technology. Includes 407,367 full-text articles, 2.0+ million pages of full-text articles, 6,500+ video files, and 594 audio files. 
ACS Web Editions
American Chemical Society Full-Text Web Editions
AgeSource/AgeStats Worldwide
Social gerontology and aging-related research
AGRICOLA
NAL Catalog; Agriculture, forestry and animal science 1989-present
Applied Science & Technology Subjects in ASTA: Applied chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy-related disciplines, engineering, mathematics, physics. Indexes more than 700 journals, for a total of 1.5 million articles indexed.
Biological & Agricultural Index
Biology, ecology, agriculture and forestry
CINAHL PLUS
Select Choose Databases, then select from the right hand column
EbscoHost - Academic Search Complete
EbscoHost: Academic Search Complete is an aggregated / general database with many scholarly science titles. It is best to restrict your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
Gale Virtual Reference Library 
More than 300 full-text reference titles including such things as The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, 4th edition, 2008; Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Evolution, 2011; Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West; Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education; Business Plans Handbook, volume 19, 2011; Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior, 3rd edition, 2009; Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media, 2007.
General Science Full Text 
Select OmniFile Mega then in the bottom right corner select the appropriate subject area
Academic subject oriented periodical index; Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains everything (all the indexing, abstracting, and full text) that is contained in six major Wilson databases: including General Science Full Text.
GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
Index of U.S. government publications; also links directly to electronic government documents.
IEEExplore
Selected journals, conference proceedings and standards
IOP : Institute of Physics
Access provided through UT system; UTPB has access to the Standard Service only. This means twenty-eight of the thirty-eight journals published by IOP are available full-text, and that no deep backfiles are available.
JSTOR
Choice Outstanding site; Archives & provides full-image for more than 1,200 scholarly journals from their beginnings to the most recent 1 to 7 years (varies with vendor contracts). In short, this provides access to more than 3 million full-length scholarly articles.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 65 years.
MEDLINE : PubMed
Choice Highly Recommended site; Comprised of more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central.
MedlinePLUS: Health Information
Choice Outstanding site; MedlinePlus is a specialized subset of MEDLINE, which focuses on consumer health information. This database provides consumer health information about drugs and supplements, a medical encyclopedia, a dictionary, and other information culled from US government publications
Nature, Nature Archives Online
Nature Archives coverage is 1987-1996, Nature is 1996 forward; full-text andfull-image (PDF) files available; PDF files usually print better, but full-text files handle some types of graphics better.
Nature GeoScience
Includes full-text and full-image (PDF) files available; PDF files usually print better, but full-text files handle some types of graphics better.
Nature Methods
subtitled Techniques for Life Scientists and Chemists
New England Journal of Medicine Online
Complete content; a mix of text+graphics and full-image files
Open Access : Directory of Open Access Journals Choice Highly Recommended site
Open Access : HighWire Press Choice Outstanding site
Oxford Premium Reference Online
Choice Outstanding site; single-user license; more than 300 full-image reference titles; at least basic coverage available for most academic disciplines
PapersFirst
Provides indexing for every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Over 6.5 million records; updated twice monthly.
ScienceDirect
Full-text of 600+ science journals; Elsevier
Serials Solutions: Electronic Journal Listings for UTPB
This service lists and provides direct links (on-campus only) to more than 90% of all electronic journal titles (more than 40,000) available through the databases on the "Research Databases Page" (the page you are currently viewing).
SportDiscus with Full Text
The SPORTDiscus covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport. 70% of the database consists of periodical articles.
Wiley Online Library
formerly Wiley-Blackwell; more than 1,000 journals available

Return to Library Home