Skip to main content

Nursing Resources: More Specialized Topics

Federal Government

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) (http://www.cdc.gov)
The CDC strives to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability. The CDC publishes many important journals such as Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report and Emerging Infectious Diseases.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) (http://www.nih.gov/)
The NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. The NIH is comprised of 27 separate Institutes and Centers.
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) (http://www.ninr.nih.gov)
Part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), NINR "supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness across the lifespan. The research focus encompasses health promotion and disease prevention, quality of life, health disparities, and end-of-life. NINR seeks to extend nursing science by integrating the biological and behavioral sciences, employing new technologies to research questions, improving research methods, and developing the scientists of the future."

Statistical Sources

CDC WONDER (http://wonder.cdc.gov/)
From the Centers for Disease Control, CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research) provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and even numeric public health data. You may access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics. You can also query numeric data sets on CDC's mainframe and other computers, via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. Public-use data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, TB, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized and analyzed.
California Department of Health Services. Center for Health Statistics (https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/Program-Landing1.aspx)
The mission of the Center for Health Statistics (CHS) is to facilitate the collection, validation, statistical analysis, and dissemination of health data in support of the mission of the California Department of Health Services. The CHS home page has links to several statistical reports and data, such as the Vital Statistics Query System.
California - Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development - Healthcare Information Division (http://www.oshpd.ca.gov/hid/)
The Healthcare Information Division (HID), a division of the Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development (OSHPD), collects and disseminates data from licensed health facilities in California and acts as a clearinghouse for information on healthcare cost, quality and access.
ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics (http://www.childstats.gov/)
This forum is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The complete America's Children reports since 1997 are available here as well as Data Sources/Contacts where you can get statistics related to the health of children.
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (https://apps.orau.gov/cedr/#.WOJPNWe1uUk)
The Department of Energy (DOE) has developed the Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) Program to provide public access to health and exposure data concerning DOE installations. Most of the data are from epidemiologic studies conducted by DOE-funded researchers as part of the DOE Worker Health and Mortality Study. Additionally, studies of populations residing near DOE installations, and other studies of radiation health effects, such as classic studies of atomic bomb survivors and the radium dial painters, are represented in CEDR. The site is currently being redesigned by CEDR's new home, Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE).
County and City Data Book (http://www.census.gov/library/publications/2010/compendia/databooks/ccdb07.html)
Data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas. Topical areas include age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use. Data comes from the U.S. Census Bureau and other federal statistical bureaus, governmental administrative and regulatory agencies, and private research bodies. Ceased updating 2011.
Demographic and Health Surveys (https://dhsprogram.com/)
To date, DHS has provided technical assistance for more than 200 surveys in more than 75 countries. DHS provides decision-makers with information necessary to plan, monitor, and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs.  In addition, DHS plays a major role in furthering international understanding of global population and health trends. Publications may be searched or you may browse publications by country, publication type and/or topic.
Fedstats: One Stop Shopping for Federal Statistics (http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/)
More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) (http://www.who.int/gho/en/)
From the World Health Organization (WHO) this guide to health and health-related statistical information and incorporates information formerly found in the WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS). It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information. WHO also has a Data and Statistics page with additional resources such as the Global Health Atlas.
Health, United States (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm)
The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS) annual report on the health status of the Nation and trends in health statistics. Previous editions dating back to 1975 are also available.
KIDS COUNT Data Center (http://datacenter.kidscount.org/)
KIDS COUNT, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. The online data center includes state- and city-level data for over 100 measures of child well-being, including all the measures regularly used in the popular KIDS COUNT Data Book. This easy-to-use, powerful online database allows you to generate custom reports for a geographic area (Profiles) or to compare areas on a topic (Ranking, Maps, and Line Graphs).
National Center for Health Statistics (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/)
The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data. You may Browse/Search Publications or you may use the index, FastStats: A to Z.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (http://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html)
The current edition as well as past editions (back to 1878) of this standard reference source are available here. Section 2 has Vital Statistics and Section 3 has Health and Nutrition statistics.
Statistical Agencies (International) (http://www.census.gov/population/international/links/stat_int.html)
From the US Census Bureau, this site contains links to statistical agencies for many countries of the world.
US Census Bureau (http://www.census.gov/)
For statistics related to population, housing, and the economy of the United States.
UNICEF Statistics and Monitoring (http://www.unicef.org/statis/)
This introductory page explains how UNICEF monitors the situation of women and children. There is a link to ChildInfo.org which provides access to all of UNICEF’s statistical information. Tables from The State of the World’s Children and Progress for Children are available for all countries and include data on basic indicators, mortality & health, nutrition-related indicators, water & sanitation, and education.
 

Special Topics in Nursing - AIDS/HIV

AIDSLINE through PubMed (1980- )
A subset of PubMed, AIDSLINE includes citations to the literature covering research, clinical aspects and health policy issues related to AIDS/HIV.
California Department of Public Health. Office of AIDS (https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DOA/Pages/OAmain.aspx)
Much information on AIDS in California, including legislation, statistics, epidemiology, prevention, testing, treatment, etc.
CDC- HIV/AIDS (http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/)
From the Centers for Disease Control, this website has much information on prevention and control of HIV/AIDS. Includes Downloadable Slide Sets, an Index of HIV/AIDS related Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports (1981-Present), Research, and much more.
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base (http://www.census.gov/population/international/data/hiv/)
Information on the AIDS pandemic and on the HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries is only available in widely scattered small-scale surveys. The HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base was developed and is maintained by the Health Studies Branch, International Programs Center (IPC), Population Division, U.S. Bureau of the Census, with funds from the U.S. Agency for International Development. It is a compilation of information from those studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, and appearing in the press.
JAMA & Archives HIV/AIDS Collection (http://pubs.ama-assn.org/cgi/collection/hiv_aids)
The Journal of the American Medical Association maintains this easy-to-use, peer-reviewed collection of resources on HIV/AIDS. HSU does not have access to the online full text articles. Use the print issues of JAMA to find the articles.
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource (http://www.thebody.com/index.shtml)
The Body's mission is to: 1. Use the Web to lower barriers between patients and clinicians; 2. Demystify HIV/AIDS and its treatment; 3. Improve patients' quality of life;  4. Foster community through human connection. Has much information and links to Treatment Periodicals; e.g. AIDS Treatment News.
UNAIDS The Joint UN Programme on HIV/AIDS (http://www.unaids.org/)
UNAIDS mission is stated this way: "As the main advocate for global action on HIV/AIDS, UNAIDS leads, strengthens and supports an expanded response aimed at preventing the transmission of HIV, providing care and support, reducing the vulnerability of individuals and communities to HIV/AIDS, and alleviating the impact of the epidemic."

Community Health Nursing

American Public Health Association (http://www.apha.org/)
The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing more than 50,000 members from over 50 occupations of  public health. The Association and its members have been influencing policies and setting priorities in public health since 1872.
Ending Neglect: The Elimination of Tuberculosis in the United States (http://www.nap.edu/catalog/9837.html)
This report dated 2000 from the Committee on the Elimination of Tuberculosis in the United States, Division of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, "provides important background on the pathology of tuberculosis, its history and status in the U.S., and the public and private response."  It also "explains how the U.S. can act with both self-interest and humanitarianism in addressing the worldwide incidence of TB."
Journal of Community Nursing (JCN) (http://www.jcn.co.uk/)
Published in Surrey, England. JCN claims to be the "leading monthly peer reviewed community journal promoting excellence in health care practice." Full text articles. You will need to register to view the articles.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (http://phpartners.org/)
"A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet." This website has pages devoted to such specific public health topics such as Environmental Health and Bioterrorism.
Tobacco Control Archives (https://www.library.ucsf.edu/archives/tobacco/)
The purpose is "to collect, preserve, and provide access to papers, unpublished documents, and electronic resources relevant to tobacco control issues.". Also includes A Digital Library of Tobacco Documents also described as the Legacy Tobacco Documents Library which "contains more than 11 million documents (60+ million pages) created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities."
UC Berkeley. Public Health Library. Public Health Resources on the Internet (http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/PUBL/internet.html)
A well-organized list of hundreds of public health resources, including Ethnic Groups Health Resources.