LibGuides: Civil Engineering: Find Journal Articles

Introduction to the Library's Databases

J.Conrad Dunagan library's offers hundreds of databases on various subjects, containing different types of materials. Below is a list of the databases specific to Civil Engineering.

A good place to start any journal article search is via FalconFinder. FalconFinder searches the library catalog as well as the library's databases. You can search by keyword as well as limiting to full-text or peer-reviewed articles. Off campus users will be asked for their Falcon IDs and passwords before seeing the full text.

Search FalconFinder

FalconFinder - Search our collection of books, journals, and databases.

Off-campus access requires Falcon ID & password.

Subject Name Databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Full Text™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
GeoRef (1693 - current) This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Coverage for North American resources starts in 1669, whereas worldwide coverage starts in 1933.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
A nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive resource for research and communications in the Earth Sciences. GSW works with societies, institutions, and researchers around the world and provides a single source of access to 46 preeminent scholarly journals, 2,080+ eBooks, and over 4 million GeoRef records with specialized and map-based search capabilities and links to curated earth science research around the Web.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Choice Highly Recommended site; Selected journals, conference proceedings and standards.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. (1946-current)
Web of Science - Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is a grouping of multidisciplinary citation indexes. It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available. Web of Science Core Collection contains the following citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1900-present, Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1900-present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present,Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present, Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present, and Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2015-present.