Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference - General Literature and Language Reference Materials
Quotation pages in general preferred order
Literature and Language Reference
- The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
- Elements of Style — Strunk & White
- A Glossary of Literary Terms
- International Writing Centers Association
- Online Writing Lab at Purdue (OWL) Choice Outstanding site
- Poets & Writers Online: Resources for Creative Writers
- Researchpaper.com Several useful features including an idea generator, extensive collection of pathfinders. Especially useful for undergraduates
- Resources from the Digital Writing and Resource Lab University of Texas at Austin
- RhymeZone formerly A Semantic Rhyming Dictionary. Site editors state that the content remains the same; however the site now has many advertisements on it.
- Web English Teacher Choice Outstanding
- Writing for the Web Jakob Nielson; usability emphasis
- Your Dictionary.com
- Zotero: The Next Generation Research Tool Choice Outstanding site; George Mason University and the Mellon Foundation
- The Cambridge History of English and American Literature: An Encyclopedia in 18 Volumes Bartleby.com; Scout Report review; This excellent free resource "comprises the largest public reference work of literary criticism and history on the Internet." Originally published in 1907-1921, the volumes include 303 chapters and more than 11,000 pages, edited and written by a worldwide panel of 171 leading scholars and thinkers of the early twentieth century.
- Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia maintained by Athabasca University
- Encyclopedia of Diderot & D'Alembert: Collaborative Translation Project Hosted by the University of Michigan Library; The editors note that articles currently available reflect the interests and expertise of the translators, and that "although we cannot hope to translate all 70,000 articles, we will continue to post new translations as they come in."
- The Harvard Classics: The Shelf of Fiction
- The Modern Language Association Language Map [of the US] Choice Highly Recommended site; based on statistics from the 2000 US Census, the site has language and linguistics data in a well-organized format; the site has been updated through 2009; the site provides color-coded maps of 33 language groups in the nation, by county and ZIP code, and allows comparisons of two language groups or two states.
- Open Books Page Choice Outstanding site; University of Pennsylvania; lists and links over 35,000 free e-books
- Rave Reviews: Bestselling Fiction in America University of Virginia Library; online exhibition
- Reading: Harvard Views of Readers, Readership, and Reading History
- Representative Poetry On-Line University of Toronto Includes indexing by poet, date, title and keyword.
- Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database Choice Highly Recommended site; An invaluable treasure trove of more than 73,000 historical and critical citations about the related genres of science fiction, fantasy, and horror.
- Sonnet Central this site is an archive of English-language sonnets accessed through an alphabetical listing by author's name or period of English or US literature.
- Universal Usability: A Universal Design Approach to Web Usability Choice Highly Recommended site
Go to the Library Collection
