Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature & Languages Guide: English Literature

American and British Literature; other literatures; selected reference resources.

English Literature

Beowulf : A New Translation for Oral Delivery
Choice Highly Recommended site
Caxton's Chaucer : The British Library
Scout Report; Choice Recommended site
The New Chaucer Society
Choice Outstanding site
Bluestocking Archive
18th Century
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832
Choice Outstanding site
Camelot Project
University of Rochester; Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies and basic information
Canadian Literature Archive
University of Manitoba
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
Choice Highly Recommended Site; University of California - Los Angeles
Celebration of Women Writers
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Contemporary Postcolonial & Postimperial Literature in English
Choice Highly Recommended site
Dante Gabriel Rossetti
Choice Highly Recommended site; the complete writings and paintings
Choice Outstanding site
East London Theatre Archive
Provided by the Victoria and Albert Theatre Collections; about 2,700 items from 1827 to the present
Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature
National Library of Medicine exhibit
gender Inn
English and German language searchable database
The Gothic: Materials for Study
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Choice Outstanding site
Jane Austen Information Page
for her experiences in Bath see the online exhibit at the Jane Austen Centre, Bath, England
JASNA: Jane Austen Society of North America
John Keats: A Comprehensive Study of His Life and Works
Choice Highly Recommended
Leigh Hunt Online : The Letters
Choice Highly Recommended; University of Iowa
The Life of Charlotte Bronte
by Elizabeth Gaskell; through Project Gutenberg
Lord Byron: A Comprehensive Study of His Life and Works
Choice Highly Recommended site
Luminariuim: Anthology of English Literature
Choice Highly Recommended site; Middle English, Renaissance, 17th century, and Restoration literature
Middle English Compendium
Choice Highly Recommended site; Harvard
The Modern English Collection
Univ. of Virginia Electronic Text Center
Morris, William
The William Morris Society; includes a set of related links
OzLit@The University of Sydney
more than 3000 Australian literary and historical texts; keyword search available
The Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood
at Artchive.com
The Pre-Raphaelite Critic:
Contemporary Criticism of the Pre-Raphaelite Movement, 1846-1900
Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource
Birmingham (UK) Museums and Art Gallery
Representative Poetry Online
University of Toronto
Romantic Circles
University of Maryland
Romantic Chronology
University of California - Santa Barbara
Romantic Links : from Voice of the Shuttle
Choice Recommended site
Romanticism : Romantic Online Resources
Nicely arranged outline with links from San Jose State University
The Rossetti Archive
The complete writings and pictures of Dante Gabriel Rossetti
Illustrated Shakespeare Collection
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections; This online collection of selected electronic facsimiles seeks to share the marriage between book art and Shakespearean text with a wider audience. It also suggests the variety of responses by visual and book artists to the stimulus of Shakespeare's words.
Shakespeare's Sonnets
Choice Recommended site; especially helpful to non-English major
TEAMS Middle English Texts
Choice Outstanding site; part of the Camelot Project
Victorian Studies on the Web
". . . an elegant and powerful web site for researchers on all aspects of British Victorian studies. . . . "
The Victorian Web
Wilke Collins
The William Blake Archive
Women Writers Project
Choice Highly Recommended site; Brown University; Visitors should be sure to check out the actual manuscript collection found here, which contains over 320 texts published between 1526 and 1850. Visitors should also be sure to check out the "WWO Lab" area, which is also found in the "Research and Publications" section. The Lab offers several intriguing visualizations that show the percentage of dramatic speeches according to the speaker's gender in two 17th century plays as well as another visualization that looks at the letter-writing networks at the heart of the "The History of Emily Montague" from 1769.
West European Studies Section; Association of College and Research Libraries—WESS
WESS : West European Studies
WESS—British Studies
WESS—Irish Studies site began construction in 2011

Need Help?