Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- 20th Century American and 20th Century English Poetry Select 20th Century American or 20th Century English from the collections menu; includes 50,000 poems from 300 American poets, and 600 volumes of poetry from 283 English poets. Chadwyck-Healey / ProQuest
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection aka Humanities E-Book Collection Choice Highly Recommended site; This began life as the History E-Book Project, but in the summer of 2007 the ACLS recognized that the project had in fact expanded beyond the confines of history. The name was changed and the holdings were expanded to more than 3,000 titles in history, art, literature, and other humanities areas.; ACLS
- American Periodical Series, 1740-1900 Choice Highly Recommended site; In order to access this database you must select Databases selected just under the Basic search tab at the top of the default/ start-up page; scroll to the bottom of the resulting page to Historical Databases. Note: In ProQuest historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases. The database provides access to more than 1,100 journal titles (more than 7 million pages) published from 1740-1900. ProQuest Historical
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection : Series 1 60,000 historical articles; political and religious pamphlets and broadsides; 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English; content
- Britannica Online Choice Outstanding site; The Encyclopedia Britannica Online online; this standard reference work is updated monthly; each main entry includes the appropriate bibliographic citation for citing the article; also includes access to The Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary, and the Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol
- CLCD: Children's Literature Comprehensive Database Children's Literature reviewers read and critically review more than 3,000 books annually.
- Chicano Database Choice Outstanding tite; FirstSearch/OCLC; from UC-Berkeley a database focused on Mexican-American, Chicano and the broader Latino experience; indexes more than 2,000 journals; subjects strengths include art, bilingual education, history, labor, language, literature, mental health and politics.
- Dictionary of American Regional English The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam's housecat to Zydeco -- has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity; Harvard University.
- Early English Books Online: EEBO Choice Outstanding title; The full images of 125,000 early English books from 1475 to 1700 [Malory to Locke]; Gale Cengage
- Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol Britannica
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online 180,000 books published between 1701 and 1800; 33 million pages of full-text; The database is full-text searchable using a basic or advanced search. A Fuzzy Search option captures variant spellings and OCR errors by retrieving similar terms to those sought. Results display in digitized page format with the searched word highlighted.; Gale Cengage
- GaleNet-all available databases
- Gale Literary Databases focused on contemporary literature; contents are: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Gale Virtual Reference Library More than 300 full-text reference titles.
- The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1453-1945 Choice Outstanding site; An international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. Contains more than 2,000,000 page images in 15 languages. The collection is made up of 265 periodical titles and 4,471 book and pamphlet titles. ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey
- HarpWeek, 1857-1912 HarpWeek is the full-text and full-image reproductions of Harpers Weekly. There is a searchable database which offers several different ways to access the material. The database introduction and help pages are excellent. The vendor also provides Finding Aids for some of the most common areas of interest--e.g. Geography, Literary Genre, Occupation or Role in Society and so on. Harper's Publishing
- Historical Newspapers: London Times Indexes
- Palmer's Index to the [London] Times, 1790-1905
- The Official Index to the [London] Times, 1906-1980
- Palmer's Full Text Online, 1800-1870
- Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2011) Choice Highly Recommended site; In order to access this database you must select Databases selected just under the Basic search tab at the top of the default/ start-up page; scroll to the bottom of the resulting page to Historical Databases. Note: In ProQuest historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases.
- Humanities Full Text
Select OmniFile Mega then in the bottom right corner select the appropriate subject area
Academic subject oriented periodical index ranging from archaeology to linguistics and languages to music, folklore and history. Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains everything (all the indexing, abstracting, and full text) that is contained in six major Wilson databases: including Humanities Full Text.
- Humanities and Social Science Retrospective, 1907-1984 Choice Highly Recommended site; The complete online backfile indexing of Wilson's Humanities and Social Science Index and the subsequent Humanities Index and Social Science Index.
- JSTOR Choice Outstanding site; Archives & provides full-image for more than 1,200 scholarly journals from their beginnings to the most recent 1 to 7 years (varies with vendor contracts). In short, this provides access to more than 3 million full-length scholarly articles.
- Latin American Women Writers The full images of 100,000 pages, authored from 1700-present. Authors from the 19th century include: Clorinda Matto de Turner (Peru), Juana M. Gorriti (Argentina), Gertrudis Gomez de Avellaneda (Cuba), Delmira Agustini (Argentina), and Julia Lopes Almeida (Brazil), among others. A number of important figures from the early 20th century are also targeted for inclusion, such as Alfonsina Storni (Argentina), Juana de Ibarbourou (Uruguay), Gabriela Mistral (Chile), and Clarice Lispector (Brazil). Alexander Street
- MLA choice Highly Recommended site; GaleNet/MLA; Indexes literature, languages, linguistics, folklore; 1926 to the present; more than 2 million citations.
- PAO Full-Text Collection PAO: Periodical Archives Online [formerly PCI] covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences; it contains the contents of 400 journal runs, providing access to over 8 million article pages. It has digitized important scholarly titles but also includes journals of historical interest that began publication in the 19th century, for example, Edinburgh Review, which was first published in 1802.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 Choice Highly Recommended site; Readers’ Guide has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and was hailed by Library Journal as One of the 50 Best Reference Sources for the [2nd] Millennium. RG Retrospective presents one of the the richest accounts of U.S. cultural history you’ll find in any single source.
Oxford English Dictionary [OED] Online Choice Outstanding site; Complete text of the most current edition of the Oxford English Dictionary [OED] i.e. the Second Edition, 1989 with all supplements and for the online version, monthly updates of new words Oxford Reference
Oxford Premium Reference Online Choice Outstanding site; single-user license; more than 300 full-image reference titles; at least basic coverage available for most academic disciplines; Oxford Reference