Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - United States, Africa, Asia, Middle East, Oceania Guide: Mideast, Eurasia, Central Asia

Central Asia, Middle East, sometimes Eurasia

 

WWW Virtual Library: History Central Catalogue
Choice Highly Recommended site; select by continent, era, topic, country; extensive European resources.

 
Center for Contemporary Arab Studies Georgetown University
Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding Georgetown University
Digital Egypt for Universities
Choice Highly Recommended, 2007
Digitized Afghanistan Materials in English from the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection, University of Nebraska
This is the largest collection of materials on Afghanistan in the US
Eternal Egypt
predynastic times to the present; in English, French or Arabic; requires QuickTime
History in the News: Middle East History, Society & Culture
SUNY-Albany, Dept of History; an excellent, well-maintained metasite for a broad range of subjects related to the Middle East
Iraq: Conflict in Context
BBC - Recent History
The Jewish History Resource Center 
Choice Highly Recommended site, 2006
The Middle East 1916-2001 : A Documentary Record
Yale School of Law; Avalon Project; Choice Highly Recommended site, 2006
Middle East Studies Internet Resources
Choice Highly Recommended site, 2006; Choice Outstanding site, 2003; Columbia
Social Sciences in the Arab World, 2010
2010 World Social Science Report: Social Sciences in the Arab World ; part of International Social Science Council; UNESCO; 30 page pdf format background paper; See also; http://www.unesco.org.shs/wssr and www.worldsocialscience.org
 

Cultural and Intellectual History

For the Ancient Near East see box below
Gertrude Bell Archive; Newcastle University Library
Gertrude Bell 1868-1926; an early female traveler in the Middle East; the site is divided into Photographs (7,000); Diaries (16); and Letters (1,600). The Tyne Robinson Library worked for four years to complete the transcription of manuscripts and re-catalog and digitize photographs to make this resource available to the general public through a basic, user-friendly Web site.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History : The Greater Ottoman Empire, 1600-1800
Islamic Art, Later Period
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History : Art and Nationalism in Twentieth-Century Turkey
Islamic Art, Later Period
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History : Islamic Art in the Medieval Period (ca. 1000-ca 1400 A.D.)
In the Beginning: Bibles Before the Year 1000
This delightful interactive online exhibit was created by staff members at the Freer & Sackler Galleries Smithsonian Institution, and was created by guest curator, Michelle P. Brown. The exhibit brings together (with some nice audio commentary) a number of important early Hebrew and Christian bibles. The sections of the site tell the stories of the earliest printed Bibles and also how readings from early Bibles brought the Old and New Testaments to life in a very vivid fashion. The exhibit site is rounded out by some very fine extras, such as a bibliography, a chronology, and so on.
H-Museum: Iraq - The Cradle of Civilization at Risk
2003; discussion and background on the destruction of a significant amount of Iraq's cultural heritage in 2003.
Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs
New York Public Library Collection

Ancient Near East

 

The Ancient Egypt Site 
actively maintained and a labor of love since 1997
Art of the First Cities: The Third Millennium B.C. From the Mediterranean to the Indus
This Web site presents almost two dozen examples of Third Millennium B.C. art from the region called the "cradle of civilization," an area stretching from the Aegean and Eastern Mediterranean across Iran and Central Asia to the Indus Valley. The site is divided into eight thematic sections: Masterpieces, Cities, The Ruler, The Divine World, Death and Burial, Writing, Seals and Sealing, Clothing and Personal Adornment.
Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
Choice Highly Recommended, 2008; UCLA and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science
ETANA: Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives
Funded by the Mellow Foundation and the National Science Foundation, this cooperative effort aims to develop a "comprehensive internet site for the study of the Ancient Near East (ANE)"; website significantly updated 2011
Giza Archives Project
Choice Outstanding site, 2006; Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History : Islamic Art in the Early Period (ca. 500-ca 1000 A.D.)

Traditional Middle East

Compare with Central Asia above

  • Bahrain
  • Cyprus
  • Egypt
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Oman
  • Gaza
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Syria
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen

Modern or Islamic Middle East

This is a fairly new designation that has evolved since the end of the Cold War. It includes all of the countries listed in "The Middle East" as well as the following.

  • Algeria
  • Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Libya
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Pakistan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Sudan
  • Uzbekistan

Central Asia

Central Asia

This is a fairly new designation that has evolved since the Soviet Union left the area in about 1991.

  • Afghanistan there is considerable argument as to whether Afghanistan is part of Southeast Asia or part of Central Asia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

Go to the Library Collection