Skip to main content

History - United States, Africa, Asia, Middle East, Oceania Guide: History Databases

History Databases

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection 

Choice Highly Recommended site; This began life as the History E-Book Project, but in the summer of 2007 the ACLS recognized that the project had in fact expanded beyond the confines of history. The name was changed and the holdings were expanded to more than 3,000 titles in history, art, literature, and other humanities areas.; ACLS

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1940-1996 

Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America’s struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.

British Periodicals (1681-1939) 

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Chicano Database (EBSCO)   

Choice Outstanding site; EBSCO; from University of California - Berkeley a database focused on Mexican-American, Chicano and the broader Latino experience; indexes more than 2,000 journals; subjects strengths include art, bilingual education, history, labor, language, literature, mental health and politics.

Chicano Database (OCLC)   

Choice Outstanding site; FirstSearch/OCLC; from University of California - Berkeley a database focused on Mexican-American, Chicano and the broader Latino experience; indexes more than 2,000 journals; subjects strengths include art, bilingual education, history, labor, language, literature, mental health and politics.

Fuente Academica Premier 

This database is an expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from LAtin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology.

The Gerritsen Collection: Women’s History Online, 1453-1945   

Choice Outstanding site;  An international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. Contains more than 2,000,000 page images in 15 languages. The collection is made up of 265 periodical titles and 4,471 book and pamphlet titles. ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective, 1907-1984 

Choice Highly Recommended site; The complete online backfile indexing of Wilson’s Humanities and Social Science Index and the subsequent Humanities Index and Social Science Index
Subjects covered: 
Addiction Studies, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Religion and Theology, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies;  Formerly WilsonWeb, now owned by EBSCOhost

Humanities Full Text 

Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals -- of which 470 are peer reviewed --dating as far back as 1984. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Oxford American National Biography Online  

Choice Outstanding site; The premier source of information about over 19,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

Reader’s Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 

Choice Highly Recommended site; Readers’ Guide has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and was hailed by Library Journal as One of the 50 Best Reference Sources for the [2nd] Millennium. RG Retrospective presents one of the the richest accounts of U.S. cultural history you will find in any single source.

Religion and Philosophy Collection 

This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

World History Collection 

Contains full text for 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals; full text dates as far back as 1964.

 

Research Help

Research Assistance 
Phone: 432-552-2372, 432-552-2378, or 432-552-2396
libraryinstruction@utpb.edu or libraryservices@utpb.edu 
FalconChat