Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - United States, Africa, Asia, Middle East, Oceania Guide: US History

US History

Abraham Lincoln: A Resource Guide
Choice Highly Recommended site; Library of Congress
African-American Archaeology, History and Cultures
Choice Outstanding site; University of Illinois
The African American Mosaic
a Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture
African American Odyssey
Library of Congress
Alcohol, Temperance & Prohibition
Brown University Library Center for Digital Initiatives
AMDOCS: Documents For the Study of United States History
WWW-VL
American Memory Index : Library of Congress
selected collections
American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920
253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors of their travels in the colonies and the U.S.
American Presidency Project
Choice Outstanding site; Originally UC - Santa Barbara, now a stand-alone site containing 86,419 documents related to the study of the Presidency
American Slave Narratives
From the 1930's WPA writers project
American Social History Online
Choice Highly Recommended site; CUNY, Center for Media and Learning
American Women:
A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
American Women Through Time
Choice Highly Recommended site
American Women's History: A Research Guide
ANES: American National Election Studies
Choice Highly Recommended site
Antietam on the Web
a site totally dedicated to this battle; a clear overview and useful maps; sources are comprehensive and the site is well-maintained; navigation is simple and obvious; loading quick
Archives.gov
The National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) site is convenient, artistically designed, and updated on a near-daily basis.
 
BlackPast.org: Remembered & Reclaimed
Choice Outstanding site; Online Reference Guide to African American History; U Washington
The Bisbee Deportation of 1917
specific to the state of Arizona; an online exhibits examines this event in which over 1,000 copper miners in Arizona were loaded onto livestock rail cars and forcibly transported across state lines to Columbus, New Mexico
The Booker T. Washington Papers
University of Illinois; the links to digitized collections relevant to his work are particularly helpful
 
Catherwood Digital Collections: Labor Studies
Choice Highly Recommended site; Cornell
Center for Jewish History
includes a major sub-section of the U.S.
Center for the Study of the North American West
Stanford University
Center of the American West
University of Colorado; topics include energy policy, economic theory, land usage, and social interaction in various contexts of western history
A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875
Choice Outstanding site
Civil Rights Digital Library
University of Georgia; an excellent resource for educators wishing to incorporate primary source material into the classroom; site materials are organized according to Events, Places, People, Topics, Media Types, Contributing Institutions, and Educator Resources; may also browse alphabetically.
Civil Rights Movement Veterans
this is a site produced of, by, and for Civil Rights Movement Veterans; the greatest amount of material centers on Freedom Summer, and other aspects of the movement in the South before c. 1966
Constitution——CRS Annotated
Choice Outstanding site;  Cornell University Law School
 
David Rumsey Map Collection
Extensive digital gallery of maps, globes, atlases, charts, school geographies, and so on; site focuses on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries
The Decisive Day is Come: The Battle of Bunker Hill
Massachusetts Historical Society
Digital Harlem: Everyday Life, 1915-1930
University of Sydney, Department of History
Digital Library on American Slavery
Discovering American Women's History Online
A dedicated labor of love by Ken Middleton, a reference librarian at Middle Tennessee State University. Coverage of topics is broad and includes those one would expect to find like suffrage, feminism, and home economics. Specialized topics are included as well, ranging from women rodeo performers and pilots to architects. Historical periods range from the 17th to the 21st century, with emphasis on the 19th century and later. More than 400 collections are available; CONTENTdm provides the database to allow researchers to use advanced search options.
Documenting the American South
University of North Carolina
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: an on-line archival collection
Duke University
The Dred Scott Case Collection [Revised]
Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
Choice Outstanding site; 2009
 
The E Pluribus Unum Project:
subtitled: America in the 1770s, 1850s and 1920s The project examines these three critical periods of strain and conflict in US History. It provides texts from these periods to illustrate issues and multiple perspectives.
Early Americas Digital Archive, 1492-c.1802
Choice Outstanding site;  Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities
Edwin Moise Bibliography of the Vietnam War
Clemson University
The Electric Ben Franklin
a very user friendly site and an excellent introduction to the life and work of Benjamin Franklin.
Eugenics Archive:...the American Eugenics Movement
Choice Highly Recommended site; well-organized and easy to use; offers the following topics: Social Origins, Scientific Origins, Research Methods, Traits Studied, Research Flaws, Eugenics Popularization, Marriage Laws, Immigration Restrictions, and well-documented sections on authors
 
First Amendment Center
Choice Highly Recommended site
First Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920
University of North Carolina; Documenting the American South
Founders Early Access
an effort to make early American documents available to the public; the project is a collaboration of the University of Virginia and the National Historical Publications & Records Commission
Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training
Library of Congress
 
The Hanford Site Historical District
Historic [U.S.] Government Publications from World War II
More than 200 World War II era pamphlets, digitized and supported by SMU
History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course
Designed for teachers of US history survey courses at the high school and college level
 
 
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Choice Outstanding site; Harvard University
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
sponsored and prepared by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; provides access to more than 16,500 pages of text, 60 maps and over 8,000 illustrations.
 
July, 1942: United We Stand
America after Pearl Harbor; Smithsonian
 
Lincoln/net
Jointly sponsored by a number of Illinois institutions. Focuses on pre-Civil War Lincoln.
The Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
Choice Outstanding site; University of Pennsylvania
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1954-2004
An extraordinary resource for those who study or teach political communication or US political history; one reviewer said it is simply interesting [and] voters, marketing professionals or even those looking for something memorable to watch on the Web will enjoy visiting the site. The site includes a brief introduction of every presidential campaign year and has notes on a handful of individual ads.
 
The Malcolm X Project
Columbia University
Making of America
MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Making the History of 1989
Web site on the fall of communism in Eastern Europe; includes 300 primary sources which are downloadable as pdf files. A brief analysis accompanies each document; documents can be found using keyword searching or by browsing the teaching modules and case studies.
 
National Congress of American Indians
the oldest and largest tribal government organization in the US; provides a forum for "consensus-based policy development" among its membership of more than 250 tribal governments from every region of the country
North American Slave Narratives
University of North Carolina; Documenting the American South
 
Public History Resource Center
created in 1999 by 4 graduate students at the University of Maryland; the site attempts to "curate the field of public history"; information includes a history of historical societies through the U.S.; bibliographies; links to many public history like web sites, and so on
 
Radical America: The Magazine
Radical America was a magazine launched in 1967 by radical students in Madison, Wisconsin, ...Its early mimeographed issues bore the inscription "An SDS Journal of the History of American Radicalism," the initials referring to Students for a Democratic Society, the primary 1960s student radical organization. SDS broke up in 1969, but the journal lived on, thriving in the 1970s, surviving the 1980s, and dissolving in the early 1990s.  Brown University Library has digitized the first 24 years.
Raid on Deerfield: The Many Stories of 1704
Choice Outstanding site; 29 February 1704 raid on Deerfield, Massachusetts by 300 French and Native allies
The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
a PBS documentary
The Rutgers Oral History Archives: World War II, Korea, Vietnam, and the Cold War
 
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
New York Public Library, New York City
September 11, 2001, Documentary Project
Library of Congress
The Sixties Project
University of Virginia
Slavery and Abolition in the US : Select Publications of the 1800s
Dickinson College Archives and the Millersville University Archives
The Supreme Court Historical Society
 
Throwaway History: The Broadside in American Culture
Tennessee State Library and Archives
Tracked in America.org
Choice Highly Recommended site; this site in association with various civil rights organizations, explores US government "tracking" of its citizens from about 1900 forward. Readily accessible, easy to navigate, also has enhancements such as lesson plans geared to grades 9-12.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Provides information on more than 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly transported 10 million Africans to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. Choice Outstanding site, 2009
 
Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture: A Multi-media Archive
Choice Outstanding site; University of Virginia; National Endowment for the Humanities; National Endowment for the Arts
The United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures
A joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Library of Brazil, examines the history of Brazil and its interaction with the US and parallels and contrasts the two cultures from the 18th century to the present.
U.S. "Tiananmen Papers"
Choice Highly Recommended site
United States Courts
Choice Outstanding site, 2010
Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963
includes primary source documents, historical illustrations, and retrospective essays.
 
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Choice Outstanding site
The Veterans History Project
Library of Congress
The Vietnam Center and Archive
Choice Highly Recommended site; Texas Tech
Votes for Women: 1848-1921
Library of Congress
Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008
Choice Highly Recommended site  University of Richmond
The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945-1975
Vassar College
 
Women Working, 1870-1930
Choice Outstanding site; Harvard; massive amount of primary material organized thematically; the site has very little explanatory text for historical context.
WWW Virtual Library: American Indians
Choice Highly Recommended site; includes Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
WWW Virtual Library: The American West
Choice Highly Recommended site
WWW Virtual Library: Slavery

Go to the Library Collection