Skip to main content

History - United States, Africa, Asia, Middle East, Oceania Guide: General State Encyclopedias and Handbooks

General State Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Calisphere: A World of Primary Sources and More
University of California; over 150,000 unique items, including a rich variety of photos, diaries, cartoons, ads, art, newspaper images, oral history transcripts, and other material concerning the history and development of California.
Digital Library of Georgia
Choice Highly Recommended site; University of Georgia
Encyclopedia of Alabama
sponsored primarily by the Alabama Humanities Foundation and Auburn University, among others;
See also AlabamaMosaic
Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture
Choice Highly Recommended site
Encyclopedia Virginia
explores the commerce, history, culture, arts, and sciences of the state. The current designation of "beta" indicates continuous additions of new content, along with possible updates and refinements to the interface, design, and search functions.
Low Country Digital Library
South Carolina; 41 historic collections in South Carolina
Minnesota Reflections
Choice Highly Recommended site; freely accessible collection features unique resources from some 100 historical societies, special archives, libraries, and other organizations throughout Minnesota; more than 45,000 photographs, maps, journals and documents of many kinds
Nebraska Memories
Similar to other state and local projects this is an effort to create a digital record of the state's history and culture
New York Heritage Digital Collections
research portal for New York State history, this site provides access to digitized primary sources, featuring photographs, newspapers, maps, directories, and personal correspondence
New York State Digital Collections
New York State Education Department
ONE: Online Nevada Encyclopedia
site was created to illustrate intellectual, cultural, and civic life in Nevada, using sponsorships including the National Endowment for the Humanities and partnerships with organizations including the Nevada Historical Society
Oregon Encyclopedia
an important, authoritative source of information on Oregon history, culture, people, places, significant events, and institutions
Seeking Michigan
Established in 2008, this Web site aims to provide "access to unique historical information that promotes Michigan's cultural heritage."
The Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture
comprehensive, covers the prehistoric to the present; more than 1,500 entries; many entries end with lists of further readings, and cross-references to related entries.
Turning Points in Wisconsin History
Each of the 10 broad themes (from Early Native Peoples to Wisconsin's Response to 

Go to the Library Collection