Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science Guide: Political Science Databases

Political Science Databases

Academic Search Complete 

EbscoHost: Academic Search Complete is an aggregated / general database with indexing for more than 5,000 journals. It is best to restrict your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."

AgeSource/AgeStats Worldwide

Social gerontology and aging-related research; AARP

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection : Series 1 

60,000 historical articles; political and religious pamphlets and broadsides; 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English; content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%); Ebscohost

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection : Series 2 

60,000 historical articles; political and religious pamphlets and broadsides; 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English; content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%); Ebscohost

British Periodicals (1681-1939) 

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

CLASE and Periodica   

FirstSearch; CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and the humanities; Periodica covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together these indexes offer access to more than 450,000 citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.

Essay & General Literature Index 

This is a unique index that provides indexing for articles and essays published in books. This index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. The online index covers 1985 to the present, while the Dunagan Library owns the paper indexes back to 1933;  Formerly WilsonWeb, now owned by EBSCOHost

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective, 1907-1984 

Choice Highly Recommended site; The complete online backfile indexing of Wilson’s Humanities and Social Science Index and the subsequent Humanities Index and Social Science Index
Subjects covered: 
Addiction Studies, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Religion and Theology, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies;  Formerly WilsonWeb, now owned by EBSCOhost

IEEExplore 

Choice Highly Recommended site;   Selected journals, conference proceedings and standards.

JSTOR 

Choice Outstanding site;  Archives & provides full-image for more than 1,200 scholarly journals from their beginnings to the most recent 1 to 7 years (varies with vendor contracts). In short, this provides access to more than 3 million full-length scholarly articles.

Military Database 

The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

PAO Full-Text Collection 

PAO: Periodicals Archive Online [formerly PCI] covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences; it contains the contents of 600 journal runs, providing access to over 6 million articles. It has digitized important scholarly titles but also includes journals of historical interest that began publication in the 19th century, for example, Edinburgh Review, which was first published in 1802. Access provided to PAO Collections 1-8 and British Periodicals Collection II.

Project MUSE 

Choice Outstanding site; This database contains the complete texts with all graphics, footnotes, and references of all JHUP journals. Beginning in 2001 additional titles from more than 100 prestigious scholarly and university presses have been added for a total of more than 600 high quality academic journals. The project focuses on humanities & social science titles, but also publishes journals dealing with the history of science. Johns Hopkins University Press / Project Muse.

Readers’ Guide Full Text 

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ indexes and provides full text to a broad range of journals and magazines; FYI:   Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications including: 
        Education Full Text 
        General Science Full Text 
        Humanities Full Text 
        Readers’ Guide Full Text 
        Social Sciences Full Text 
        Wilson Business Full Text [BPI]

Religion and Philosophy Collection 

This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

SAGE Methods 

is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

ScienceDirect   

Elsevier; Full-text of 600+ science journals; also includes more than 100 social science journals.

SocINDEX with Full Text 

Choice Highly Recommended site; Sociology, Social Work and Criminology are the focus of this database. Covered in less depth and limited to journals with a social policy focus are titles in Political Science, Public Administration, Geography, and Economics. 816 journals identified and selected by the American Sociological Association are indexed cover-to-cover, another 630 journals are "priority" indexed. More than 500 of these journals are available in full text through this database. In addition, access is provided to nearly 7,000 full-text conference papers and more than 720 books.

Wiley Online Library   

Choice Highly Recommended site;  Full-image of more than 1,500 journals. The new interface indicates which titles are journals and which are books. It also has a little icon of a padlock; if the padlock is open UTPB has access; if there is no padlock or the padlock is "closed" then UTPB does not have access.

Need Help?