Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Guide: Nursing Databases

Nursing Databases

Academic Search Complete 

EbscoHost: Academic Search Complete is an aggregated / general database with indexing for more than 5,000 journals. It is best to restrict your search by selecting "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."

AHFS Consumer Medication Information 

A trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish.

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality)

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of healthcare for Americans.  Clinical Practice Guidelines, National Clearinghouse; AHRQ

Alt HealthWatch 

This database focus on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.

Biological Science Database 

This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

CINAHL PLUS with Full Text

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.‚Äč

Cochrane Library 

A key resource in evidence-based medicine – a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarizes and interprets the results of medical research.

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

ERIC (EBSCO) 

Contains more than 1.4 million annotated references to non-journal material, journal articles and bibliographic records from over 2000 titles as well as links to more than 323,000 full-text documents, from 1966 to present.

Medline

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Health Source - Consumer Edition 

This database is a collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.  It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide; EBSCOhost

JSTOR 

Choice Outstanding site; Archives & provides full-image for more than 1,200 scholarly journals from their beginnings to the most recent 1 to 7 years (varies with vendor contracts). In short, this provides access to more than 3 million full-length scholarly articles.

MedlinePLUS: Health Information

Choice Outstanding site; MedlinePlus is a specialized subset of MEDLINE, which focuses on consumer health information. This database provides consumer health information about drugs and supplements, a medical encyclopedia, a dictionary, and other information culled from US government publications; NIH.

MEDICINEnetBASE 

A complete and in-depth collection of over 390 ebooks providing authoritative and practical references on topics ranging from cardiology and clinical neuroscience to dermatology and gastroenterology in the armamentarium of the clinicians who need them on a daily basis.

MedicLatina 

MedicLatina contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

Medline

Using this address, you may choose to access Medline through one of two gateways; PubMed or the National Library of Medicine [NLM] Gateway.

MEDLINE : EBSCOhost 

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

MEDLINE : PubMed

Choice Highly Recommended site; Comprised of more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central; NIH.gov

MedlinePLUS: Health Information

Choice Outstanding site; MedlinePlus is a specialized subset of MEDLINE, which focuses on consumer health information. This database provides consumer health information about drugs and supplements, a medical encyclopedia, a dictionary, and other information culled from US government publications; NIH.

Natural & Alternative Treatments 

Natural & Alternative Treatments contains detailed information on almost 200 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 300 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 90 drug categories. [Note: Access only available on-campus.

Natural Science Collection 

The Natural Science Collection includes the Agri & Env, Bio Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

New England Journal of Medicine Online : NEJMO 

Complete content; a mix of text+graphics and full-image files'

PsycARTICLES 

Full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles covering from 1894 to the present for nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA); EBSCOhost

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection 

Comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world’s largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Wiley Online Library   

Choice Highly Recommended site;  Full-image of more than 1,500 journals. The new interface indicates which titles are journals and which are books. It also has a little icon of a padlock; if the padlock is open UTPB has access; if there is no padlock or the padlock is "closed" then UTPB does not have access.

PsycINFO 

Comprehensive professional psychology index; abstracts of psychology literature since 1806; more than 2.2 million records; updated weekly.

PubMed

More than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life journals and online books.

SciTech Premium Collection (1946-current) 

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

Scopus 

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Need Help?