Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical Nursing Sources
- CDC WONDER (http://wonder.cdc.gov/)
- From the Centers for Disease Control, CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research) provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and even numeric public health data. You may access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics. You can also query numeric data sets on CDC's mainframe and other computers, via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. Public-use data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, TB, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized and analyzed.
- California Department of Health Services. Center for Health Statistics (https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/Program-Landing1.aspx)
- The mission of the Center for Health Statistics (CHS) is to facilitate the collection, validation, statistical analysis, and dissemination of health data in support of the mission of the California Department of Health Services. The CHS home page has links to several statistical reports and data, such as the Vital Statistics Query System.
- California - Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development - Healthcare Information Division (http://www.oshpd.ca.gov/hid/)
- The Healthcare Information Division (HID), a division of the Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development (OSHPD), collects and disseminates data from licensed health facilities in California and acts as a clearinghouse for information on healthcare cost, quality and access.
- ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics (http://www.childstats.gov/)
- This forum is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The complete America's Children reports since 1997 are available here as well as Data Sources/Contacts where you can get statistics related to the health of children.
- County and City Data Book (http://www.census.gov/library/publications/2010/compendia/databooks/ccdb07.html)
- Data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas. Topical areas include age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use. Data comes from the U.S. Census Bureau and other federal statistical bureaus, governmental administrative and regulatory agencies, and private research bodies. Ceased updating 2011.
- Demographic and Health Surveys (https://dhsprogram.com/)
- To date, DHS has provided technical assistance for more than 200 surveys in more than 75 countries. DHS provides decision-makers with information necessary to plan, monitor, and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. In addition, DHS plays a major role in furthering international understanding of global population and health trends. Publications may be searched or you may browse publications by country, publication type and/or topic.
- Global Health Observatory (GHO) (http://www.who.int/gho/en/)
- From the World Health Organization (WHO) this guide to health and health-related statistical information and incorporates information formerly found in the WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS). It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information.
- Health, United States (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm)
- The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS) annual report on the health status of the Nation and trends in health statistics. Previous editions dating back to 1975 are also available.
- KIDS COUNT Data Center (http://datacenter.kidscount.org/)
- KIDS COUNT, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. The online data center includes state- and city-level data for over 100 measures of child well-being, including all the measures regularly used in the popular KIDS COUNT Data Book. This easy-to-use, powerful online database allows you to generate custom reports for a geographic area (Profiles) or to compare areas on a topic (Ranking, Maps, and Line Graphs).
- National Center for Health Statistics (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/)
- The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data. You may Browse/Search Publications or you may use the index, FastStats: A to Z.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (http://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html)
- The current edition as well as past editions (back to 1878) of this standard reference source are available here. Section 2 has Vital Statistics and Section 3 has Health and Nutrition statistics.
- Statistical Agencies (International) (https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/international-programs/about/idb.html)
- From the US Census Bureau, this site contains links to statistical agencies for many countries of the world.
- US Census Bureau (http://www.census.gov/)
- For statistics related to population, housing, and the economy of the United States.
- UNICEF Statistics and Monitoring (http://www.unicef.org/statis/)
- This introductory page explains how UNICEF monitors the situation of women and children. There is a link to ChildInfo.org which provides access to all of UNICEF’s statistical information. Tables from The State of the World’s Children and Progress for Children are available for all countries and include data on basic indicators, mortality & health, nutrition-related indicators, water & sanitation, and education.
Go to the Library Collection