Skip to main content

History - United States, Africa, Asia, Middle East, Oceania Guide: Intro

Introduction

This guide provides links to J. Conrad Dunagan Library History resources as well as a selection of History websites. Please explore the tabs at the top of this guide, and use the databases and websites to find full-text articles and data on United States, Africa, Asia, Middle East, and Oceania Histories. 

Your reference librarians are available to assist you with your research, essay writing and citation. Please start your search from the library collection/Falcon Finder.

Research Tips

For research tips, please go to Reference and Instruction Guide.

News and Request

The Library has frequent purchases of new resources such as Books, EBooks, Journals and Databases. Please let us know if you think a resource must be added to the collection. To request for the purchase of resources, please fill out this form and submit it.

New History books added to the library collection, June 2019

HISTORY

Compassion’s Thread, by Linda Atwill (Tethering Press, 2002) DS 559.8.M5 A89 2002

The Dictionary Wars: The American Fight Over the English Language, by Peter Martin (Princeton, 2019)

PE 1611.M295 2019

Submersive Intent: Gender, Politics, and the Avant‐Garde, by Susan Rubin Suleiman (Harvard University Press, 1990) PQ 307.E95 S85 1990

Egypt, Greece and Rome: Civilizations of the Ancient Mediterranean, by Charles Freeman (Oxford, 1996)

DE 71.F74 1996

The Courage to Act: A Memoir of a Crisis and its Aftermath, by Ben S. Bernanke (W. W. Norton & Company, 2015)

HB 119.B46 A3 2015

The Fix: How Bankers Lied, Cheated and Colluded to Rig the World’s Most Important Number, by Liam Vaughan & Gavin Finch (Bloomberg, 2017) HV 6771.G7 V38 2017

Stalingrad: The Fateful Siege: 1942‐1943, by Antony Beevor (Viking, 1998) D 764.3.S7 B37 1998

A Devil of a Whipping: The Battle of Cowpens, by Lawrence E. Babits (The University of North Carolina Press, 1998)

E 241.C9 B33 1998

Great Zulu Battles 1838‐1906, by Ian Knight (Arms & Armour, 1998) DT 1875.K585 1998

An Awkward Truth: The Bombing of Darwin February 1942, by Peter Grose (Allen & Unwin, 2011)

D 767.82.D3 G76 2011

A Sorrow in Our Heart: The Life of Tecumseh, by Allan W. Eckert (Smithmark, 1994) E 99.S35 T135 1994

The Templars: The Dramatic History of the Knights Templar, The Most Powerful Military Order of the Crusades, by Piers Paul Read (Da Capo Press, 2000) CR 4743.R4 2000

Soldiers of the Sun: The Rise and Fall of the Imperial Japanese Army, by Meiron & Susie Harries (Random House, 1991) DS838.7.H37 1991

Brassey’s Encyclopedia of Land Forces and Warfare, by Franklin D. Margiotta (Brassey’s, 1996) UD 145.I58 1996

The Mediterranean and the Mediterranean World in the Age of Philip II, vol. 1, by Fernand Braudel (Harper Colophon Books, 1972) DE 80.B7713 1972 v.1

The Mediterranean and the Mediterranean World in the Age of Philip II, vol. 2, by Fernand Braudel (Harper Colophon Books, 1972) DE 80.B7713 1972 v.2

The Devil’s Horsemen: The Mongol Invasion of Europe, by James Chambers (Atheneum, 1979) DS 19.C45 1979

Fire in the Sky: The Air War in the South Pacific, by Eric M. Bergerud (Westview, 1999) D 785.B45 1999

The Guns of Independence: The Siege of Yorktown, 1781, by Jerome A. Greene (Savas Beatie, 2005)

E 241.Y6 G74 2005

Target Tokyo: Jimmy Doolittle and the Raid That Avenged Pearl Harbor, by James M. Scott (W. W. Norton & Company, 2015) D767.25.T6 S37 2015

The Affair: The Case of Alfred Dreyfus, by Jean‐Denis Bredin (George Braziller, 1986) DC 354.B6713 1986

Barbarossa: The Russian‐German Conflict, 1941‐45, by Alan Clark (Quill, 1985) D 764.C55 1985

The Great Battles of World War II, by Henry Maule (Regnery, 1973) D 743.M359 1973

 Battleships of World War II: An International Encyclopedia, by M.J. Whitley (Arms and Armour, 1998)

V 815.W49 1998b

Roman Empire, by Nigel Rodgers (Lorenz Books, 2006) DG 272.R63 2006 

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Need Help?

New resources added to the library collection in July 2019

Go to the Library Collection