Becoming Human, The Institute of Human Origins (IHO), affiliated with Arizona State University's School of Human Evolution and Social Change since 1998, created the Becoming Human Web site in 2000 and released version 2.0 in 2009. Becoming Human offers introductory information about human evolution and resources for educators and general audiences.
Biodiversity Heritage Library, offered by a consortium of 12 major US and UK botanical and natural history libraries includes a collection of 46,000-plus titles and 90,000-plus volumes. The biodiversity-related items range in date from 1450 to the present....A variety of search options enhance browsing of the thousands of freely available documents. One such feature permits the creation of a full bibliography with links to the full text.
Bioethics.net The bioethics.net website is currently maintained by the editorial staff of The American Journal of Bioethics. In service to anyone interested in bioethics, the website publishes information on the latest journal publications, events, job opportunities and current news. The site now includes original blog authorship by world-renowned bioethicsts, as well as being a one-stop-shop for popular syndicated bioethics blogs.
Carbon Offset Guide, an initiative of the Stockholm Environment Institute, CORE (Carbon Offset Research and Education) provides data regarding various types of legislation regarding carbon offset programs, both in the US and abroad. CORE compiles data from authoritative governmental bodies and international organizations (e.g., US Environmental Protection Agency, World Bank, UN, and World Wildlife Fund). However, the site states that CORE does not reflect the views of these institutions nor does it obtain any official endorsements from them. The site also includes a glossary to help the user navigate through the world of carbon offset and the policies and regulations that define it.
Census of Marine Life, A recently completed ten-year, $650-million international project involving 2,700 scientists from 80+ nations who produced 2,600 publications and described 1,200 new species, the Census of Marine Life (CoML) aimed to compile and increase access to knowledge of the diversity, geographic distribution, and abundance of marine life.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture, An electronic collection of important US agricultural texts published between the early 19th century and middle 20th century. More than 800 titles currently available.
Darwin Online, provides access to all of Darwin's publications, including many handwritten manuscripts.
Darwin’s Manuscripts, sponsored by the American Museum of Natural History Library, provides digital access to over 34,000 folios and contain all Darwin's botany, zoology and human evolution manuscripts.EnviroLink,
FAOSTAT, from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available. Of the one billion-plus data points, 40 million are updated annually and some are updated daily.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System, provides taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. A partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists.
National Agricultural Library, The National Agricultural Library is one of five national libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences. Links to the library's vast information sources, collections and data.
National Center for Biotechnology Information, NCBI's mission is to develop new information technologies to aid in the understanding of fundamental molecular and genetic processes that control health and disease. More specifically, the NCBI has been charged with creating automated systems for storing and analyzing knowledge about molecular biology, biochemistry, and genetics; facilitating the use of such databases and software by the research and medical community; coordinating efforts to gather biotechnology information both nationally and internationally; and performing research into advanced methods of computer-based information processing for analyzing the structure and function of biologically important molecules. Start at this page to access the wide variety of resources available through NCBI.
The Tree of Life Web Project, is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. Connections between Tree of Life web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns between groups of organisms, so visitors can browse the hierarchy of life and learn about phylogeny and evolution as well as the characteristics of individual groups.
Virusworld, Created and maintained by the Institute for Molecular Virology at the University of Wisconsin - Madison.
eFloras.org, produced by the Missouri Botanical Garden, is a online flora directory. Gathering information from leading international institutions of botanical research, eFloras.org contains many resources including the monumental Flora of China and the Flora of North America.
Harmful Algae, is a useful and comprehensive introductory site to harmful algae blooms. Created and maintained by the U.S. National Office for Harmful Algal Blooms, part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation, part of Carnegie Mellon University, offers specific botanical information and images in its ten databases.
International Plant Name Index, is a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and The Australian National Herbarium. IPNI provides nomenclatural information (spelling, author, types and first place and date of publication) for the scientific names of Vascular Plants from Family down to infraspecific ranks It also provides links to protologues in online articles or page scans from the Biodiversity Heritage Library as well as links to taxonomic data (synonymy and native distribution) through the Plants of the World Online.
Native Plants of North America The most comprehensive database of native plants for North America.
PLANTS Database The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
The Swingle Plant Anatomy Reference Collection, is an online database of 1,700 digital micrographs taken from 384 specimens of [primarily tropical] flower buds, fruit, seeds, leaves, shoots, and roots. Users can browse the images or search by order, family, name (scientific or common), plant structure, and, if available, specimen's country of origin.
All about Birds, created by the Cornell Lab of Ornith. Here you’ll find detailed information on more than 600 North American bird species, tips on how to attract and enjoy birds, an extensive section on FAQs and answers to common problems, as well as news and feature stories.
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, established in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s red list of threatened species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global conservation status of animal, fungi and plant species.
NOAA Fisheries, also known as the National Marine Fisheries Service, is an office of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration within the Department of Commerce. NOAA Fisheries is responsible for the stewardship of the nation's ocean resources and their habitat. This website provides a wide variety of information (laws and regulations, reports, data and outreach) on ocean resources in the United States.
Odonata Central, the citizen science web site is focused on expanding understanding of the distribution, biogeography, biodiversity, and identification of odonatan in the western hemisphere.
Primate Info Net, from the National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin. is designed to cover the broad field of primatology, providing original content and links to resources about non-human primates in research, education and conservation. Through e-mail lists, Google Groups and other resources, PIN also supports an informal “primate information network” comprised of thousands of individuals around the world working with non-human primates.
ReefBase, is an information-rich, user-friendly resource about coral reefs. ReefBase information is organized into six categories, the first three (Resources, Status, and Threats) of which provide general and some specific background on the world's coral reef systems. "Resources" documents the distribution of, and statistical data about, coral reefs and associated fish and fisheries; "Status" reports on any observed regional trends in these reef systems; and "Threats" analyzes both "natural" (e.g., climate and coral bleaching) and directly human-induced (e.g., overfishing and pollution) threats to these systems. The fourth category ("Management") includes related legislation, extent of protected areas, and recommendations for management of area reefs. "Maps and Photos" provides a rich source of photographs that range from satellite views to maps to underwater photographs and a simple-to-use, online GIS system for mapping reef-system features. Finally, "References" provides a searchable database of sources ranging from general guide books to government publications and primary research.
Xerces Society, The Xerces Society is a nonprofit organization dedicated to conserving invertebrates and their habitat. The Invertebrates section profiles about 180 endangered or at-risk species, with an almost entirely North American emphasis. Xerces Society provides a variety of resources for homeowners, farmers and communities.