LibGuides: Nursing Guide: Find Journal Articles

Introduction to the Library's Databases

J. Conrad Dunagan library offers hundreds of databases on various subjects containing different types of materials. Below is a list of the databases specific to nursing.

An excellent place to start any journal article search is via FalconFinder. FalconFinder searches the library catalog as well as the library's databases. You can search by keyword as well as a limit to full-text or peer-reviewed articles. Off-campus users will be asked for their Falcon IDs and passwords before seeing the full text.

Search FalconFinder

FalconFinder - Search our collection of books, journals, and databases.

Off-campus access requires Falcon ID & password.

Subject Name Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online includes 68,000 titles of video material: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Along with thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy TV is an online, interactive atlas covering anatomy and physiology. It includes a 3D anatomy atlas; a library of 3D muscle function animations; gross motor movement animations, surface anatomy movies of muscle action as well as sections on clinical specialties and therapies.
CINAHL PLUS with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text combines the CINAHL® index along with the full text for more than 770 journals. Full text coverage dates to 1937.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The library subscribes to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews portion in the Cochrane Library. The Database of Systematic Reviews provides systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarizes and interprets the results of medical research.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is a collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life journals and online books.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier; Full-text of 600+ science journals; also includes more than 100 social science journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Browse our vast collection of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science, which are led by a global network of editors and authors.
Taylor & Francis eJournals This link opens in a new window
Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 1,500 journals. The new interface indicates which titles are journals and which are books. It also has a little icon of a padlock; if the padlock is open UTPB has access; if there is no padlock or the padlock is "closed" then UTPB does not have access.