Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual and Performing Arts Guide: Performing Arts and Art History Databases

Theater and Dance; Film; Music; Communications

Dance, music, film, communication and journalism Databases

Humanities Full Text 

Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals -- of which 470 are peer reviewed --dating as far back as 1984. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

ERIC (EBSCO) 

Contains more than 1.4 million annotated references to non-journal material, journal articles and bibliographic records from over 2000 titles as well as links to more than 323,000 full-text documents, from 1966 to present.

Project MUSE 

Choice Outstanding site; This database contains the complete texts with all graphics, footnotes, and references of all JHUP journals. Beginning in 2001 additional titles from more than 100 prestigious scholarly and university presses have been added for a total of more than 600 high quality academic journals. The project focuses on humanities & social science titles, but also publishes journals dealing with the history of science. Johns Hopkins University Press / Project Muse.

Grove Music Online 

Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.

JSTOR 

Choice Outstanding site; Archives & provides full-image for more than 1,200 scholarly journals from their beginnings to the most recent 1 to 7 years (varies with vendor contracts). In short, this provides access to more than 3 million full-length scholarly articles.

Naxos Music Library 

The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online offering over 1,247,500 tracks of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Includes more than 10,000 composer and artist biographies and a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names. (5-concurrent-user license)

Oxford Music Online 

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove® Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove’s more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

American Film Scripts Online

Choice Highly Recommended site; The full images of 265 scripts written by 334 authors; examples of authors are: Joan Didion, Ruth Gordon, D.W. Griffith, and John Huston Alexander Street

Essay & General Literature Index 

This is a unique index that provides indexing for articles and essays published in books. This index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. The online index covers 1985 to the present, while the Dunagan Library owns the paper indexes back to 1933;  Formerly WilsonWeb, now owned by EBSCOHost

Films on Demand 

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Many subject areas are covered. Cite it as a source for your next paper.

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective, 1907-1984 

Choice Highly Recommended site; The complete online backfile indexing of Wilson’s Humanities and Social Science Index and the subsequent Humanities Index and Social Science Index. 
Subjects covered: 
Addiction Studies, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Religion and Theology, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies;  Formerly WilsonWeb, now owned by EBSCOhost

Communication and Mass Media Complete   

Coverage of more than 820 titles, including full text for over 500 journals; EBSCOhost

Go to the Library Collection