Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual and Performing Arts Guide: Intro

Theater and Dance; Film; Music; Communications

Introduction

This guide provides links to J. Conrad Dunagan Library Performing Arts resources as well as a selection of Performing Arts websites. Please explore the tabs at the top of this guide, and use the databases and websites to find full-text articles and data on Dance, Theater, Film, Music, Communication and Journalism. 

Your reference librarians are available to assist you with your research, essay writing and citation. Please start your search from the library collection/Falcon Finder.

Research Tips

For research tips, please go to Reference and Instruction Guide.

News and Request

The Library has frequent purchases of new resources such as Books, EBooks, Journals and Databases. Please let us know if you think a resource must be added to the collection. To request for the purchase of resources, please fill out this form and submit it.

New books added to the library collection in June 2019

ART

American Art Since 1900: A Critical History, by Barbara Rose (Praeger, 1967) N 6512.R63 1967

The Author, Art, and the Market: Rereading the History of Aesthetics, by Martha Woodmansee (Columbia University Press, 1994)

BH 181.W66 1994

The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists, by Herbert Read (Thames and Hudson, 1994) N 33.T53 1994

Critical Issues in American Art: A Book of Readings, by Mary Ann Calo (Westview, 1998) N 6505.C75 1998

Writing About Art, by Henry M. Sayre (Prentice‐Hall, 1995) N 7476.S29 1995

The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms, by Edward LucieSmith (Thames and Hudson, 1984) N 33.L75 1984

Readings in American Art Since 1900: A Documentary Survey, by Barbara Rose (Praeger, 1968)

N 6512.R64 1968

Censoring Culture: Contemporary Threats to Free Expression, by Robert Atkins & Svetlana Mintcheva (The New Press, 2006)

NX 180.F74 C46 2006

From Abacus to Zeus: A Handbook of Art History, by James Smith Pierce (Prentice Hall, 2004) N 33.P5 2004

Native North American Art, by Janet C .Berlo & Ruth B. Phillips (Oxford, 1998) E 98.A7 B47 1998

Art and Culture: Critical Essays, by Clement Greenberg (Beacon Press, 1965) N 72.S6 G68 1964

Modern Artists on Art, by Robert L. Herbert (Prentice‐Hall, 1986) N 6490.M571 1986

Originals: American Women Artists, by Eleanor Munro (Touchstone, 1982) N 6512.M78 1982

Pronunciation Dictionary of Artistis’ Names (The Art Institute of Chicago, 1993) N 40.K3 1993

Art, Experience, and Criticism, by William T. Squires (Ginn Press, 1991) N 7435.S68 1991x

A Woman’s Touch: Women in Design From 1860 to the Present Day, by Isabelle Anscombe (Viking Penguin, 1985) NK 1174.A57 1985

Art and Society in Roman Britain, by Jennifer Laing (Wrens Park, 2000) DA 145.L33 2000

Italian Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture from the Origins to the Present Day, by Gloria Fossi (Giunti, 2000) N 6911.I82 2000

The Art of Venice: From its Origins to 1797, by Filippo Pedrocco (Riverside, 2002b) N 6921.V5 P44 2002b

Greek Art and Archaeology, by John Griffiths Pedley (Prentice‐Hall, 2002) N 5630.P43 2002

Your Visit to the Louvre, by Valéria Mettais (Art Lys, 1997) N 2030.M47 1997

Celebrating America: Masterworks from Texas Collections (Amon Carter Museum, 2002) N 6505.C42 2002

Freer: A Legacy of Art, by Thomas Lawton & Linda Merrill (Smithsonian Institute, 1993) N 857.5.L39 1993

Chiefly Feasts: The Enduring Kwakiutl Potlatch, by Aldona Jonaitis (University of Washington Press, 1991) E 99.K9 C45 1991

The Saints of Modern Art: The Ascetic Ideal in Contemporary Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Music, Dance, Literature, and Philosophy, by Charles A. Riley, II (University Press of New England, 1998) NX 650.A73 R55 1998

The Dada Spirit, by Emmanuelle de L’Ecotais (Assouline, 2002) N 6494.D3 L4313 2002x

Painting in Spain in the Age of Enlightenment: Goya and his Contemporaries, by Ronda Kasl & Suzanne L. Stratton (Indianapolis Museum of Art and The Spanish Institute, 1997) ND 806.P35 1997

France: A History in Art, by Bradley Smith (Gemini Smith, 1984) N 6841.S58 1984 Transcendental Train Yard, by Norma Elia Cantú & Marta Sánchez (WingsPress, 2015) NE 2237.5.S26 A4 2015

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Need Help?

New books added to the library collection/ June 2019

COMMUNICATION

Gesture in Multiparty Interaction, by Emily Shaw (Gallaudet University Press, 2019) HV 2476.4.S53 2019

Bridging the Multimodal Gap: From Theory to Practice, by Santosh Khadka & J. C. Lee (Utah State University Press, 2019)   PE 1401.B7355 2019

Persuasion and Communication in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity, by Ben Jackson, James A. Dimmock, and Josh Compton (Routledge,   

Go to the Library Collection