Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Databases: A

Note: These URLs are not routed through EZProxy.

A - Databases

Launched in the early 1970s, ABI/INFORM Global remains the gold standard when it comes to business research databases. It includes important full‐text journals and sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. ABI/INFORM Global includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals. It includes more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features content going back as far as 1887, with most full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic Video Online includes 68,000 titles of video material: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Along with thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences, curated by the American Council of Learned Societies.
The ACM Digital Library is a collection of books, journals, conference proceedings, reports and theses covering computing and information technology.
With coverage beginning in 1962, Advanced Technologies & Aerospace provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Search Advanced Technologies & Aerospace on its own or as a part of the SciTech Premium and Technology Collection databases.
Part of the Digital National Security Archive and containing over 2,000 documents pertaining to Afghanistan, the bulk of material in this database was produced between 1979 and 1988--the period of the Soviet military occupation of Afghanistan. The collection also encompasses events leading up to the 1979 Soviet invasion and includes the Soviet withdrawal during 1988-1989. Collectively, the documents cover most aspects of U.S. policy toward Afghanistan from 1973 to 1990.
The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
Agricola contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage begins in 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. Citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage begins in 1960. Search Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection on its own or as a part of the SciTech Premium and Natural Science Collection databases.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. It features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. Series 2 is second of five created from serials holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five created from serials holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five created from serials holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five created from serials holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population rapidly expanding into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
ACS Web Editions provides full text access to all journals published by the American Chemical Society.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
This database contains thousands of news articles, radio transcripts, and television transcripts from around the world covering foreign reactions to America’s struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond. They were chosen by a U.S. government agency called the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)--which became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in 1947--to be disseminated among government officials and decision makers. Where necessary, the materials were translated into English from their original language. No U.S. papers or broadcasts are included in this database.
Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS Consumer Medication Information- includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers. Available in English and Spanish, this content is updated monthly.
Anatomy TV is an online, interactive atlas covering anatomy and physiology. It includes a 3D anatomy atlas; a library of 3D muscle function animations; gross motor movement animations, surface anatomy movies of muscle action as well as sections on clinical specialties and therapies.
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. Annual Reviews publishes 51 review journals on various topics. Each review article captures current understanding of a topic, sets the work in historical context, highlights the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years as well as outlining practical applications and general significance of research to society.
This database contains news reports about apartheid from South Africa and from around the world. The reports include transcripts of radio and television broadcasts as well as articles from newspapers. The reports were chosen by a U.S. government agency called the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)--which became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in 1947--to be disseminated among government officials and decision-makers. The reports were selected for their informational value to keep policymakers informed of global concerns. When necessary, the reports were translated into English. No U.S. papers or broadcasts are included in this database.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: War Department and Indian Affairs
From 1789 until the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, Indian affairs were under the direct control of the Secretary of War. Due to a fire in the U.S War Department in November 1800, only records from late 1800 to 1824 exist.

This Archives Unbound collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department. The letters received consist of correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, and other public and private individuals. Among them are drafts of letters sent, vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts and financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, and newspapers. The letters sent have a higher proportion of letters to such addressees as the Superintendent of Indian Trade, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department. Some of the letters were signed by clerks in the Department or by the President rather than the Secretary of War. Included are copies of speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, and instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, and other officials.
Part of the Digital National Security Archive, this collection brings to the fore a unique selection of primary source documents illustrating U.S.-Argentina relations during the late 1970s.
Art Full Text™ is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, plus indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexed art reproductions provide examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Art Museum Image Gallery offers access to thousands of high-quality art images and related multimedia. Drawing on the collections of distinguished museums, there are over 165,000 images with covering time periods ranging from 3000 B.C. to the present day. The collection represents art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples. Images to be used strictly for educational purposes; may not be reproduced or repackaged.
The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project” – from which the collection draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960. Content is indexed and searchable in Spanish and English; content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women’s rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over 250,000 pages of manuscript content, over 100 newspaper titles, and more than 400 books. The collection draws its content from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project” that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture. Content is indexed and searchable in Spanish and English; content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Indexes the table of contents of over 16,000 journal titles--general, popular and trade magazines along with academic journals; contains over 23 million citations starting in 1990.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a citation index focusing on the arts and humanities. This index contains over 1,800 journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines, along with more than 4.9 million records and 33.4 million cited references. Coverage begins in 1975. Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a part of the Web of Science-Core Collection.