American Mathematical Society, professional organization.
Mathematical Association of America, provides a wealth of information centered on mathematics education, and it nicely complements its research-focused counterpart the American Mathematical Society site.
Biographies of Women Mathematicians, an award-winning site that offers comprehensive coverage of women mathematicians.
Calculus Animations, the visualizations in Calculus Animations could be useful for students studying calculus or as a supplement for instructors to use for demonstrating the rotation of equations about axes. 260 animations are available, all posted in AVI format, so users can view in QuickTime, RealAudio, and Windows Media, but not with Winamp.
Calculus on the Web, Temple University & National Science Foundation.
Center for the Mathematics Education of Latinos/as Research, research studies, working papers, presentations, and so on.
Cornell University Library: Historical Math Monographs, the full text of 512 historical mathematics books.
Finite Mathematics and Applied Calculus Resource Page, interesting and effective set of materials for students in business and social science taking introductory courses in finite mathematics and calculus.
Geometry in Action, the Web page author is a noted researcher in computational geometry, thus this particular area of geometry is highlighted by this site.
Interactivate provides Java-based courseware for exploration in science and mathematics for grades 4-8; a service of the Shodor Education Foundation.
International Mathematical Olympiads, the official site of the IMO which sponsors a highly regarded high school mathematics competition.
Linear Algebra Toolkit provides an interactive site for basic matrix calculations; what makes this site different is that after the calculation a tutorial follows.
MAA Distinguished Lecture Series, mathematical Association of America; provides a much-needed venue for mathematicians to talk about current trends in mathematics in a style that is accessible to the general public and no specialist. Funded by the National Security Agency, the lecture series began in 2007, and at the time of this review, 19 lectures had been given. However, most of the lectures are only available as summaries or video snippets.
Math2.org, the site provides a wide range of material, from simple multiplication tables to advanced Fourier Series and Transform theory.
Math Archives provides a wide range of links to software, teaching materials, and topics in mathematics, together with a searchable database.
The Math Forum, a site for K-16 math teachers maintained by Drexel University. The site includes The Math Forum: Student Center which offers Ask Dr. Math, resources by grade level, math challenges, and an Undergraduate Research Database.
Mathematical Functions, another Internet resource provided by Wolfram Research; a compendium of mathematical functions traditionally published in paper form as functions and formulae,
Mathematical Programming Glossary, published by INFORMS Computing Society, this glossary is available to users for free. It features terms related to mathematical programming, economics, computer science, and mathematics. Glossary terms are listed alphabetically; a search box is also available. However, according to one review, the primary problem is that definitions of some terms do not address all relevant disciplines. Nevertheless, the site is user-friendly, easy to navigate, and one of the better online dictionaries for the disciplines mentioned above.
Mathematical Sciences Digital Library [MathDL], mathematical Association of America; aimed at college-level students and their teachers.
Mathematics, provide access to the arXiv, but the "front-end" provided by UC-Davis is the preferred interface for access mathematical e-prints.
MathVids.com aggregates and organizes video lessons, lectures, and tutorials for middle to high school and university students, teachers, or anyone wishing to learn, relearn or find help.
MathWorld, Wolfram Research now provides free access to Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics; since 1999 a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, subdivided into elementary, middle, and high school, along with higher education and professional development.
New Mathwright Library, originally developed by the Univ. of North Carolina with the NSF and IBM; now a "dotcom" site supported by Bluejay Lispware, but extremely reasonably priced at $20 per year for individuals; aimed at high school and college teachers; contains more than 150 workbooks with examples, demos; the workbooks cover high school algebra, geometry, and precalculus and college-level calculus, linear algebra and differential equations.
Number Theory Web, very spare site; of interest to anyone interest in number theory but only to such persons. Although not particularly obvious on the home page the site links are kept quite up-to-date.
The Prime Pages: Prime Research, Records, and Resources, one reviewer called this site "a grand complement and supplement to any number theory course".
QuickMath, an automated Web site that allows students to quickly check their answers to basic problems; aimed at c. 10th grade and above. While the site is free to users, when a problem is submitted most of the time only an answer is given, not how the answer was arrived at.
S.O.S. MATHematics, offers straightforward technical assistance primarily to high school and college students, although some of its sections will be useful to both adult learners and professionals.
Short Trig Course, first available in 1996; updated and kept current by the author; intended to be a brief introductory course to beginning trigonometry.
Teaching College Math, professor Maria H. Andersen teaches mathematics at Muskegon Community College, and she also works as a consultant for a range of companies. As a public service to those in her profession, she has created this well-designed website.
WISE: Web Interface for Statistics Education, Claremont Graduate University; provides tutorials and related applets simulating and exploring various statistical concepts.