US Energy Information Administration “The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.” EIA creates reports on a wide variety of energy topics and gathers statistics on various energy resources (both domestic and foreign.)
USGS-Science for a Changing world, Energy resources program.
OSTI.GOV, U.S. Department of Energy-Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
Alternative Fuels Data Center, “The Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) provides information, data, and tools to help fleets and other transportation decision makers find ways to reach their energy and economic goals through the use of alternative and renewable fuels, advanced vehicles, and other fuel-saving measures”.
NREL Transforming Energy, “The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) is transforming energy through research, development, commercialization, and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies.”
Gulf Spill Restoration, this website maintained by NOAA on behalf of the Deepwater Horizon Natural Resource Damage Assessment Trustees.
International Atomic Energy Agency, “The IAEA is the world’s center for cooperation in the nuclear field and seeks to promote the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technologies.”
Texas Facilities Commission-Office of Energy Management, Texas office of energy management.
University of Southern California
Clemson: good general information page
INIS: International Nuclear Information System
from the International Atomic Energy Agency;
the world's largest database of nuclear scientific/technical literature covers a broad range of subjects in the areas of nuclear engineering, safeguards, and nonproliferation. The database contains over three million bibliographic citations and abstracts in 63 languages from a wide range of publications. Included are journal articles (13,500-plus journal titles are indexed), scientific/technical reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations/standards, and Web documents. INIS has over 200,000 full-text documents (many are not readily available elsewhere). Institutions with subscriptions to the database's electronic journals can access the full text of journal articles via DOI (digital object identifier) links. The database was made available free to all Internet users in April 2009.
The Materials Gateway: Materials Research Society
Provides comprehensive, current materials science and engineering information organized in an accessible format. It is one of the biggest and most far-reaching sites of its type. Links to many leading journals in science and engineering, some of which provide full access to current issues; links to more than 100 private, government, and national laboratories; summaries of current and state-of-the-art research in multiple areas of materials science engineering and related fields; and links to numerous online resources and educational information.
MIT Open CourseWare: Principles of Engineering Practice
Engineering can be a difficult subject. This fine course from MIT's OpenCourseWare presents materials from the spring 2010 version of Professor Lionel C. Kimerling's "Principles of Engineering Practice."
Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering
University of Texas at Austin
It is the online equivalent of a paper trade journal. The site offers standard articles about the industry, job ads, and company ads, as well as press releases, podcasts, blogs, videos, and a calendar. The Finance section, which pulls together the top 40 renewable energy companies, is particularly interesting to businesses. Major sections on the main page include Renewable Energy, Solar Energy, Wind Energy, Geothermal Energy, Bioenergy, and Hydropower. The articles in these sections are not how-to articles, and there is a strong international component to the material covered. This international information, which is frequently hard to find, helps to make this a valuable resource for those interested in energy issues throughout the world.
The TeachEngineering website is a resource for teachers who seek to make engineering concepts come to life for students in grades K-12. It is also worth noting that some of the resources are appropriate for college-level students. Funded with money from the National Science Foundation, a team of university researchers worked to create a searchable web-based digital library of free and accessible curriculum resources.
University of Michigan: Center for Research on Learning and Teaching: Engineering
Greatest Engineering Achievements of the Twentieth Century
National Academy of Engineering : WTOP Radio Series Archive
Working with WTOP Radio and Federal News Radio, the National Academy of Engineering has created hundreds of radio features that highlight engineering innovations and stories that add technical context to issues in the news.
Online Ethics Center at the National Academy of Engineering
The site's mission is to provide engineers, professionals, and students with resources that will help them understand ethical problems that arise in their work or study and the responsibilities of research.
Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
What You Need to Know about Energy
Developed by the National Academy of Sciences, this site is aimed at the general public and grades 8-12 education institutions. The site is easy to navigate, and the layout is simple and very readable, yet visually pleasing. The information is presented in a way that is understandable to high school students or non-scientists in the general public.
Energy Citations Database (ECD) U.S. Department of Energy; nearly 2.5 million science research citations; more than 279,000 electronic documents.
NREL: National Renewable Energy Laboratory: Energy Analysis energy analysis tools; models, etc.
A source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.