LibGuides: Computer Science Guide: Find Journal Articles

Introduction to the Library's Databases

J.Conrad Dunagan library's offers hundreds of databases on various subjects, containing different types of materials. Below is a list of the databases specific to computer science.

A good place to start any journal article search is FalconFinder. FalconFinder searches the library catalog as well as the library's databases. You can search by keyword as well as limiting to full-text or peer-reviewed articles. Off campus users will be asked for their Falcon IDs and passwords before seeing the full text.

Search FalconFinder

FalconFinder - Search our collection of books, journals, and databases.

Off-campus access requires Falcon ID & password.

Computer Science Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a collection of books, journals, conference proceedings, reports and theses covering computing and information technology.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Full Text™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Computer Source contains nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Computer Source provides a balance of technical journals and consumer computer titles. Coverage begins in 1965.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Choice Highly Recommended site; Selected journals, conference proceedings and standards.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Information Science & Technology Abstracts indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
The Science & Technology Collection contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technology community. Subject include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
The Technology Collection combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. (1962-current)