Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Guide (General)

General Education, K-12, Children's Literature

Children’s Literature Websites

American Association of School Librarians

Association for Library Service to Children

Reading Lists from the International Reading Association

Baldwin Library of Children's Literature Digital CollectionCulled from the 100,000 volumes in the acclaimed Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature (based at the University of Florida library), this resource makes accessible a collection of 2,500 fully digitized children's books published from 1850 to 1900 in the US and UK. The scope of the collection is wide ranging, with works by big names in the field such as Hans Christian Andersen and Kate Greenaway along with some wonderfully rare gems.

Caldecott Medal Home Page , ALA and the Association for Library Services to Children

CCBC: Cooperative Children's Book Center  , Choice Highly Recommended site; One reviewer described the site as Current, varied, and of high quality, CCBC is a site to visit regularly Funded by the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Education

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site ,Choice Highly Recommended site; Hurst's site offers a wealth of helpful information for elementary teachers and their students, including how to bring literature into the classroom and how literature can easily be incorporated into other subject areas such as science and mathematics. This site is huge, itself presenting an enormous amount of material as well as linking to other sites.

Children's Literature Web Guide , Choice Outstanding site; Dr. D. K. Brown, University of Calgary authors this site; its goal is to use electronic resources to further the reading of books. With more than a million visitors to the page since April 1998, he seems to be succeeding. Features include What's New!, What We're Reading: Commentary on Children's Books, and Web-Traveler's Toolkit: Essential Kid Lit Websites.

Coretta Scott King Award, American Library Association

Doing What Works [in Education] , Research-based educational practice.

International Children's Library : A Library for the World's Children , Project of the University of Maryland and the Internet Archive, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services; One of the goals was to build an international collection that would appeal to children ages 3-13 (all over the world) and at the same time provide quality literature. It would also provide a platform for researchers in their quest to study international children's literature and digital media. These goals have been met and then some.

Literature for Children  LfC is an older name for the Baldwin Library of Children's Literature Digital Collection see above for description

Merrycoz.org: Works for Children, 1800-1872 , The site offers transcriptions and images from a variety of 19th century children's books and magazines; Dr. Pat Pflieger (English, University of Pennsylvania) the site's author argues that children's books and magazines from this period are important because they what 19th century American citizens, voters, and politicians read in their most impressionable years This site offers far more commentary and contextual information about these publications than the similar areas on Project Gutenberg or the International Children's Digital Library.

Newbery Medal Home Page , American Library Association

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database, has more than 80,000 entries articles, books, news reports, obituaries, motion picture reviews, and other materials about science fiction, fantasy, and horror; indexes both scholarly and fan writings, it covers all aspects of these genres except for book reviews. Not even the MLA Bibliography has coverage to match this index.

Storytellers: Native American Authors Online , Choice Highly Recommended site; not specifically a children's literature site, the site contains a rich array of information on Native American writers and storytellers

The History of Nursery Rhymes & Mother Goose, a brief paper from Waterloo University, Canada

The Mother Goose Pages: Nursery Rhymes, a page based at the University of Michigan

World of Beatrix Potter, aka Peter Rabbit.com page gives links to her early childhood sketches, come of her picture letters and information about her life.

Authors and Illustrators on the Web , at The Children's Literature Web Guide

Authors and Illustrators , at the ALA, Association for Library Services to Children site

Drawing Babar: Early Drafts and Watercolors, an online exhibit from The Morgan Library and Museum