Skip to main content

Performing Arts Resources: Reference

Theater and Dance; Film; Music; Communications

Basic Reference

Not intended to be a comprehensive list, but instead a list of basic but very good leased (e.g. commercially published) websites. Off site access restricted to UTPB users.

 

 

Choose a Search Engine

 

Recommended Search Engines  University of California, Berkeley

Best expert advice when doing scholarly or other high-level research always use at least two search engines.

Return to Library Home

Reference

Academic Film Archive of North America
The Academic Film Archive of North America (AFANA) is an ambitious Web site that was created to acquire, preserve, and make freely available historically significant academic and documentary films.
America.gov
America.gov is a new project of the Bureau of International Information Programs (IIP) of the US Department of State. The IIP's purpose is to support American foreign policy goals by providing policy-focused information and content.
American FactFinder
Offers a wide assortment of search, display, and save options within a very powerful search engine; because the site and the information it provides is so extensive there are a number of quality video tutorials, with attached written transcripts to help users.
Books for Understanding: Scholarship Beyond the Headlines
from the Association of American University Presses; This free Web site provides lists of university press books on topics of current interest. The lists are divided into six groups--International, United States, Public Policy and Civics, Nature and Science, Religion, and Art and Literature--and organized internally by subtopics.
Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia
maintained by Athabasca University
Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Library of Congress
Electronic Frontier Foundation : EFF
The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF), founded in 1990 and based in San Francisco, is a donor-funded nonprofit with the mission to protect fair use and privacy online. Issues are grouped under six major headings: Free Speech, Innovation, Intellectual Property, International, Privacy, and Transparency. One recent example: Know Your Rights: Project Your Computer and Phone from Illegal Police Searches.
FedFlix
Choice Outstanding site; from NTIS and Public.Resource.Org; FedFlix features more than 3,300 films created by the US government over the past 70 years on a range of topics--from the space program and employment discrimination to WW II and the war on drugs.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
 
The Identity Archives Project
a free, keyword-searchable database of symbols and logotypes worldwide, is an excellent resource for students, educators, design practitioners, and others interested in identity development.
ipl2 : Information You Can Trust
Internet Public Library; now maintained and updated by the iSchool at Drexel University
MOVIECLIPS.com"
Cofounded by James and Raddon, and enhanced by an advisory board that includes a past president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, along with music/film industry executives, MOVIECLIPS.com provides free access to 12,000-plus film clips from over 2,000 films, legally licensed.
Muckety: Exploring the Paths of Power and Influence
The name Muckety is derived from the term "muckety-mucks," denoting important people. Muckety lends insight into how notable individuals and entities interact through diagrams, or maps, which track "people and organizations with power and influence."
NNDB : Tracking the Entire World
from Solyent Communications; NNDB describes itself as an "intelligence aggregator that tracks the activities of people we have determined to be noteworthy, both living and dead." Included are Jesus Christ and Elvis, among many others.
Pop History Dig
Pop History Dig features approximately 100 articles on various topics in American popular culture, ranging from 1900 to the present.
Vimeo Video School
Vimeo Video School succinctly and aptly teaches people how to make video--from choosing a camera to learning Macintosh and PC editing systems.
WebExhibits
WebExhibits is a free, online "interactive museum of science, humanities and culture." Indeed, with a quick browse of the exhibits hosted here, one can see a clear interdisciplinary lens being used to stimulate the interests of a wide audience.